• Tous les prix incluent la TVA.
Il ne reste plus que 6 exemplaire(s) en stock (d'autres exemplaires sont en cours d'acheminement).
Expédié et vendu par Amazon.
Emballage cadeau disponible.
Quantité :1
100 Diagrams That Changed... a été ajouté à votre Panier
+ EUR 2,99 (livraison)
D'occasion: Bon | Détails
Vendu par BookOutlet France
État: D'occasion: Bon
Commentaire: IMPORTANT NOTE: This title ships from CANADA by Air Mail - Delivery within 3 weeks. Scratch & dent version. May have minor cosmetic damage (Dented corner etc...). Customer Service in English.
Amazon rachète votre
article EUR 3,00 en chèque-cadeau.
Vous l'avez déjà ?
Repliez vers l'arrière Repliez vers l'avant
Ecoutez Lecture en cours... Interrompu   Vous écoutez un extrait de l'édition audio Audible
En savoir plus
Voir les 5 images

100 Diagrams That Changed the World: From the Earliest Cave Paintings to the Innovation of the iPod (Anglais) Relié – 30 octobre 2012


Voir les 2 formats et éditions Masquer les autres formats et éditions
Prix Amazon Neuf à partir de Occasion à partir de
Relié
"Veuillez réessayer"
EUR 24,02
EUR 9,00 EUR 7,38

Offres spéciales et liens associés


Produits fréquemment achetés ensemble

100 Diagrams That Changed the World: From the Earliest Cave Paintings to the Innovation of the iPod + Cartographies of Time
Prix pour les deux : EUR 47,61

Acheter les articles sélectionnés ensemble

Descriptions du produit

Présentation de l'éditeur

Recommended by The New York Times Book Review  ["This handsomely designed volume makes a case for the diagrams...provoking many 'aha moments.'"]

A collection of the most important ideas, theories, and concepts of all time

100 Diagrams That Changed the World is a fascinating collection of the most significant plans, sketches, drawings, and illustrations that have influenced and shaped the way we think about the world. From primitive cave paintings to Leonardo da Vinci’s Vitruvian Man to the complicated DNA helix drawn by Crick and Watson to the innovation of the iPod, they chart dramatic breakthroughs in our understanding of the world and its history. Arranged chronologically, each diagram is accompanied by informative text that makes even the most scientific breakthrough accessible to all. 

Beautifully illustrated in full color, this book will not only inform but also entertain as it demonstrates how the power of a single drawing can enhance, change, or even revolutionize our understanding of the world. With its iconic images and powerful explanations, 100 Diagrams That Changed the World is perfect for readers of The History of the World in 100 Objects, and is the ideal gift for anyone interested in culture, history, science, or technology. 
 

Biographie de l'auteur

DR. SCOTT CHRISTIANSON is a prize-winning author and investigative reporter who also works in documentary film. He lives in the Hudson Valley in upstate New York.


Vendez cet article - Prix de rachat jusqu'à EUR 3,00
Vendez 100 Diagrams That Changed the World: From the Earliest Cave Paintings to the Innovation of the iPod contre un chèque-cadeau d'une valeur pouvant aller jusqu'à EUR 3,00, que vous pourrez ensuite utiliser sur tout le site Amazon.fr. Les valeurs de rachat peuvent varier (voir les critères d'éligibilité des produits). En savoir plus sur notre programme de reprise Amazon Rachète.

Détails sur le produit

  • Relié: 224 pages
  • Editeur : Plume (30 octobre 2012)
  • Langue : Anglais
  • ISBN-10: 0452298776
  • ISBN-13: 978-0452298774
  • Dimensions du produit: 19 x 1,6 x 23,8 cm
  • Moyenne des commentaires client : 3.0 étoiles sur 5  Voir tous les commentaires (2 commentaires client)
  • Classement des meilleures ventes d'Amazon: 40.260 en Livres anglais et étrangers (Voir les 100 premiers en Livres anglais et étrangers)
  •  Souhaitez-vous compléter ou améliorer les informations sur ce produit ? Ou faire modifier les images?


En savoir plus sur l'auteur

Découvrez des livres, informez-vous sur les écrivains, lisez des blogs d'auteurs et bien plus encore.

Dans ce livre

(En savoir plus)
Parcourir les pages échantillon
Couverture | Copyright | Table des matières | Extrait | Index
Rechercher dans ce livre:

Quels sont les autres articles que les clients achètent après avoir regardé cet article?

Commentaires en ligne

3.0 étoiles sur 5
5 étoiles
1
4 étoiles
0
3 étoiles
0
2 étoiles
0
1 étoiles
1
Voir les deux commentaires client
Partagez votre opinion avec les autres clients

Commentaires client les plus utiles

Par Adriana R. le 16 juin 2015
Format: Relié Achat vérifié
Une étoile car jamais reçu. Remboursement fait après réclamation. C'était pour offrir donc déçu de ne l'avoir pas reçu. C'est récurrent avec les livres quand même. Dommage. Peut être que les livreurs ne veulent pas se fatiguer pour des petites choses...
Remarque sur ce commentaire Avez-vous trouvé ce commentaire utile ? Oui Non Commentaire en cours d'envoi...
Merci pour votre commentaire. Si ce commentaire est inapproprié, dites-le nous.
Désolé, nous n'avons pas réussi à enregistrer votre vote. Veuillez réessayer
Par alison crumbie le 16 janvier 2014
Format: Relié Achat vérifié
quality/ price excellent.
very interesting book and informative; good reproduction of diagrams and amazing to see how long ago many inventions were first established especially considering the impact on our lives today. Bravo :-)
Remarque sur ce commentaire Avez-vous trouvé ce commentaire utile ? Oui Non Commentaire en cours d'envoi...
Merci pour votre commentaire. Si ce commentaire est inapproprié, dites-le nous.
Désolé, nous n'avons pas réussi à enregistrer votre vote. Veuillez réessayer

Commentaires client les plus utiles sur Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: 44 commentaires
78 internautes sur 83 ont trouvé ce commentaire utile 
Amusing, but really only a coffee table book 11 novembre 2012
Par Rob Slaven - Publié sur Amazon.com
Format: Relié
As is the usual preamble, I received this book as part of a GoodReads giveaway.

For most purposes this rather brief tome is serviceable as a coffee table book. Each entry is given one page devoted to the diagram with a half page of text to describe it. In general the author does a good job of choosing his topics and while most are already familiar to any individual of average erudition there are some new tidbits to be gleaned. As a book to be read from cover to cover it does become somewhat daunting because the author's text is often very brief and very high level and one can never quite settle into any particular topic before being shuffled off rather quickly to the next. The chronological ordering of the book is exactly what one would wish for in such a work and the full breadth of history has considered.

On the constructive side of my observations it seems evident that the author had some difficulty coming around to 100 'diagrams' for inclusion. Many of the entries can only marginally be called diagrams at all (or the diagrams are really only secondary to the significance of the achievement being documented) while others are of dubious significance to begin with. The idea that a sketch for the iPod should appear in a book alongside Copernicus and da Vinci is, in this reviewer's opinion, an affront to any reasonable view on how we could what is significant and what is not in the grand scale of history. Lastly in this vein the text at times seems rushed and perhaps suffers from over-editing. The chosen textual format is so short that no real background can be properly conveyed and the reader suffers a bit from whiplash.

In summary, this book would make a reasonable addition to the coffee table but cannot be considered for any serious reading. It would have been better served as a book containing half as many diagrams but with much expanded text.
51 internautes sur 59 ont trouvé ce commentaire utile 
Pretty Pictures but... 4 décembre 2012
Par kazoo-joe - Publié sur Amazon.com
Format: Relié
I agreee with a previous reviewer about this being a (relatively small) coffee table book - nice pictures. However, I only got as far as 1900 BC - Pythagoras' Theorem - before I hit this egregious error: "the square of the hypotenuse equals the sum of the other two sides". If this is the extent of the author's (and his scientific fact-checkers') skills, I don't think I want it lying on my coffee table.
15 internautes sur 16 ont trouvé ce commentaire utile 
A perfect gift 5 décembre 2012
Par Kelly Whitney - Publié sur Amazon.com
Format: Relié
This was a beautiful book, readable and inspiring, that can appeal to readers of many levels, with varied interests. If is full of fascinating stories. It not only introduced me and my 12 year old son to some amazing discoveries from history, but it also gave the back story on the diagrams we were already familiar with. The original ipod diagram was one of his favorites. The combination of text and images is very powerful. 100 Diagrams is scholarly, yet accessible. I previously read another book by this author about a runaway slave and can say that this author is a very skilled story teller. While the topic of 100 Diagrams was quite different, it has the same combination of solid historical foundation and entertainment.

The size of this book appeals to me, because, unlike other books with beautiful illustrations, it fits on a normal size bookshelf.
14 internautes sur 16 ont trouvé ce commentaire utile 
Fascinating 100 Diagrams 2 décembre 2012
Par Rollercoaster - Publié sur Amazon.com
Format: Relié Achat vérifié
Fascinating look at 100 Diagrams that changed the world from Egyptian Book of the Dead and Rosetta Stone to Da Vinci's Vitruvian Man and Bell's first sketch for the telephone. Each page is a double spread showing the diagram (in color) and a page of description including what year each is from and why they are so important. Informative, light, interesting, clever and a great gift book. I love paging through this book.
10 internautes sur 11 ont trouvé ce commentaire utile 
Perfect opportunity to share with middle school students... 17 mars 2013
Par Bruce Oksol - Publié sur Amazon.com
Format: Relié
What is in the book is not so important as how one "uses" this book. Wow, what a great opportunity to share with middle school students. Take one diagram and discuss it with your child or grandchild: the importance of the diagram; why it came about when it did; what problem was the "artist" trying to solve when drawing the diagram. Sort of the "facebook" or "twitter" of science, I suppose.

100 diagrams.

214 pages (not including index, etc).

So, with 214 pages and 100 diagrams, it works out to about one page for each diagram, and one page devoted to an explanatory note by the author.

Diagrams in chronological order, of course.

Leonardo da Vinci: credited with three drawings.

Steve Jobs: one drawing.

Apple Corp (the computer company): one drawing.

Absent: Stephen Hawking. Albert Einstein. Bohr. Atom. Christopher Columbus. Board games (Monopoly). Story boards (Star Wars, The Lord of The Rings).

Most surprising: "graded sewing patterns."
Ces commentaires ont-ils été utiles ? Dites-le-nous


Commentaires

Souhaitez-vous compléter ou améliorer les informations sur ce produit ? Ou faire modifier les images?