Commencez à lire Galveston (English Edition) sur votre Kindle dans moins d'une minute. Vous n'avez pas encore de Kindle ? Achetez-le ici Ou commencez à lire dès maintenant avec l'une de nos applications de lecture Kindle gratuites.

Envoyer sur votre Kindle ou un autre appareil

 
 
 

Essai gratuit

Découvrez gratuitement un extrait de ce titre

Envoyer sur votre Kindle ou un autre appareil

Désolé, cet article n'est pas disponible en
Image non disponible pour la
couleur :
Image non disponible
 

Galveston (English Edition) [Format Kindle]

Nic Pizzolatto

Prix éditeur - format imprimé : EUR 13,03
Prix Kindle : EUR 7,49 TTC & envoi gratuit via réseau sans fil par Amazon Whispernet
Économisez : EUR 5,54 (43%)

App de lecture Kindle gratuite Tout le monde peut lire les livres Kindle, même sans un appareil Kindle, grâce à l'appli Kindle GRATUITE pour les smartphones, les tablettes et les ordinateurs.

Pour obtenir l'appli gratuite, saisissez votre adresse e-mail ou numéro de téléphone mobile.

Formats

Prix Amazon Neuf à partir de Occasion à partir de
Format Kindle EUR 7,49  
Relié --  
Broché EUR 10,26  
Broché --  
MP3 CD, Livre audio, MP3 Audio, Version intégrale EUR 19,27  
CD-Rom --  





Descriptions du produit

Revue de presse

"An often incandescent fever dream of low-rent, unbearable beauty.... Galveston, in its authenticity and fearless humanism, recalls only the finest examples of the form." - New York Times Book Review

Présentation de l'éditeur

From the creator of the hit HBO series True Detective comes a powerful, gleaming-dark thriller rich with Southern atmosphere.



Roy Cady is by his own admission 'a bad man'. With a snow flurry of cancer in his lungs and no one to live for, he's a walking time-bomb of violence. Following a fling with his boss's lover, he's sent on a routine assignment he knows is a death trap. Yet after a smoking spasm of violence, Roy's would-be killers are mostly dead and he is mostly alive.



Before Roy makes his getaway, he finds a beaten-up woman in the apartment, and sees something in her frightened, defiant eyes that causes a crucial decision. He takes her with him on the run from New Orleans to Galveston, Texas, permanently entwining their fate along a highway of seedy bars and fleabag hotels, a world of treacherous drifters, pick-up trucks, and ashed-out hopes, with death just a car-length behind.



Nic Pizzolatto's highly acclaimed, Edgar Award-nominated thriller announces the arrival of a major new talent for fans of Dennis Lehane, James Lee Burke and Breaking Bad.


Détails sur le produit

  • Format : Format Kindle
  • Taille du fichier : 534 KB
  • Nombre de pages de l'édition imprimée : 267 pages
  • Editeur : Sphere (21 novembre 2013)
  • Vendu par : Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
  • Langue : Anglais
  • ASIN: B00GHUHK14
  • Synthèse vocale : Activée
  • X-Ray :
  • Word Wise: Activé
  • Classement des meilleures ventes d'Amazon: n°107.115 dans la Boutique Kindle (Voir le Top 100 dans la Boutique Kindle)
  •  Souhaitez-vous faire modifier les images ?


En savoir plus sur l'auteur

Découvrez des livres, informez-vous sur les écrivains, lisez des blogs d'auteurs et bien plus encore.

Quels sont les autres articles que les clients achètent après avoir regardé cet article?


Commentaires en ligne

Il n'y a pas encore de commentaires clients sur Amazon.fr
5 étoiles
4 étoiles
3 étoiles
2 étoiles
1 étoiles
Commentaires client les plus utiles sur Amazon.com (beta)
Amazon.com: 4.2 étoiles sur 5  352 commentaires
71 internautes sur 79 ont trouvé ce commentaire utile 
5.0 étoiles sur 5 Haunting noir 16 juin 2010
Par Giddy Goody - Publié sur Amazon.com
Format:Relié
Galveston is exceptionally well-written, a Southern noir that takes recognizable genre types (the tough, smart mob enforcer and the spirited young woman) and plows deep, deep, deep into their psyches and souls. Roy Cady, the narrator and main character, is pretty much a triumphant creation; he knows that his strengths and his weaknesses are more acute than the typical, assimilated dude, and he is fully aware of the harm he can inflict, but he also seems to hit upon wells of compassion and bravery that are both surprising and completely earned. And his voice is an uncompromising wonder.

One reviewer here calls Galveston a redemption tale, but I think that may be putting too sunny a spin; there is no promise that the possible redemption offered has been worth the costs paid (a tour of the Inferno, with glimpses at Purgatory). It is more a novel about seemingly marginal individuals clawing tooth and nail for their humanity, and the world (and, quite often, their own instincts) fighting them at every step. There's a cinematic clarity, and an irresistibly dark pull, to the narrative, and the language often sings out with the sort of violent, seemingly off-hand vernacular poetry of a Denis Johnson or a Roberto Bolano (minus his post-Beat mannerisms).

Recommended for folks interested in noir novels that not only satisfy your itch for genre strengths like expert plotting and unceasing atmospherics, but that may also exceed your expectations in terms of characterization and depth of feeling.
37 internautes sur 44 ont trouvé ce commentaire utile 
5.0 étoiles sur 5 "The clouds of the old MGM Westerns" 10 juin 2010
Par Cardiff Giant - Publié sur Amazon.com
Format:Relié
"Galveston" is a first-rate page-turner, and, thank god, not for any cheap manipulations or torn from the headlines hooks, but for characters I can relate to -- emotionally, at least -- who are yanked relentlessly and often brutally into situations I can not relate to -- physically, at least. (What a concept -- a novel with characterization worthy of a "literary hit" and a plot worthy of the crime genre's masters!) What can be said except that Roy Cady escaped Springsteen's "Nebraska" album; thankfully, he found a home in Nic Pizzolatto's first novel.

Once you've finished, Pizzolatto's craftsmanship truly hits you -- his structure renders any melodramatics moot and lets you focus on the human journey, the human costs on Roy, Rocky, and Tiffany (in other words, he makes sure that you're turning this page-turner's pages for the right reasons); his sense of place and time is annoyingly pinpoint, as my shoulders stung from sunburns I did not have and my feet itched with sand that wasn't between my toes; and his language is a miracle, romantically honest (though this won't be a surprise for fans of his short story collection).

Incredible stuff here. Don't miss out.
14 internautes sur 16 ont trouvé ce commentaire utile 
3.0 étoiles sur 5 Solid modern-noir... but, well-trodden 22 février 2014
Par Amazon Customer - Publié sur Amazon.com
Format:Format Kindle
Brief: Good for a modern noir but it always left me wanting more. Solid storytelling but it was a well-trodden motif with no new angles or innovative character developments. The characters were essentially one-dimensional personalities -- something Pizzolatto seemed to have corrected in his latest work. The end -- the major plot points -- were fairly easy to suss out. All in all, it was a good, quick read, but the archetypes were obvious and stayed true to noir form. If you were expecting True Detective, this isn't it. Although, years down the line, it could show a baseline that will only show Pizzolatto's true brilliance. He is growing into his new writing style with his recent work for HBO. Evidence of TD's philosophy and vivid scene descriptions are there, albeit meekly.

Regardless, it was entertaining and I look forward to TD's conclusion and it's further iterations.
8 internautes sur 9 ont trouvé ce commentaire utile 
2.0 étoiles sur 5 Good and Bad 7 mai 2014
Par Rob M - Publié sur Amazon.com
Format:Format Kindle|Achat vérifié
This book is incredibly well written. The begging and the end of the plot are excellent. The writing, beginning and ending deserve 5 stars.

...However, the middle section of the book is really, really dull. Almost nothing happens for the middle 80% of the book. I struggled to get through it, and almost gave up.
4 internautes sur 4 ont trouvé ce commentaire utile 
3.0 étoiles sur 5 Pretty Good, but no True Detective 18 mai 2014
Par Seth - Publié sur Amazon.com
Format:Format Kindle|Achat vérifié
I picked this up because Pizzolatto's writing on True Detective was fantastic. Still one of the best shows I've seen in years. His writing here has its moments. I highlighted many phrases and passages throughout. And Galveston is a fast read; good for a summer weekend. But it wasn't as compelling to me. I didn't find the characters particularly interesting and the plot was not as interesting as I'd hoped. Still, perfectly good story, just not as memorable as I'd hoped.
Ces commentaires ont-ils été utiles ?   Dites-le-nous

Discussions entre clients

Le forum concernant ce produit
Discussion Réponses Message le plus récent
Pas de discussions pour l'instant

Posez des questions, partagez votre opinion, gagnez en compréhension
Démarrer une nouvelle discussion
Thème:
Première publication:
Aller s'identifier
 

Rechercher parmi les discussions des clients
Rechercher dans toutes les discussions Amazon
   


Rechercher des articles similaires par rubrique