Commencez à lire Galveston (English Edition) sur votre Kindle dans moins d'une minute. Vous n'avez pas encore de Kindle ? Achetez-le ici Ou commencez à lire dès maintenant avec l'une de nos applications de lecture Kindle gratuites.

Envoyer sur votre Kindle ou un autre appareil

 
 
 

Essai gratuit

Découvrez gratuitement un extrait de ce titre

Envoyer sur votre Kindle ou un autre appareil

Tout le monde peut lire les livres Kindle, même sans un appareil Kindle, grâce à l'appli Kindle GRATUITE pour les smartphones, les tablettes et les ordinateurs.
Galveston (English Edition)
 
Agrandissez cette image
 

Galveston (English Edition) [Format Kindle]

Nic Pizzolatto

Prix éditeur - format imprimé : EUR 11,95
Prix Kindle : EUR 6,49 TTC & envoi gratuit via réseau sans fil par Amazon Whispernet
Économisez : EUR 5,46 (46%)

Chaque jour, un ebook avec au moins 60% de réduction
Découvrez l'Offre Éclair Kindle et inscrivez-vous à la Newsletter Offre Éclair Kindle pour ne rater aucun ebook à prix exceptionnel. Abonnez-vous dès maintenant




Les clients ayant acheté cet article ont également acheté


Descriptions du produit

Revue de presse

"An often incandescent fever dream of low-rent, unbearable beauty.... Galveston, in its authenticity and fearless humanism, recalls only the finest examples of the form." - New York Times Book Review

Présentation de l'éditeur

From the creator of the hit HBO series True Detective comes a powerful, gleaming-dark thriller rich with Southern atmosphere.

Roy Cady is by his own admission 'a bad man'. With a snow flurry of cancer in his lungs and no one to live for, he's a walking time-bomb of violence. Following a fling with his boss's lover, he's sent on a routine assignment he knows is a death trap. Yet after a smoking spasm of violence, Roy's would-be killers are mostly dead and he is mostly alive.

Before Roy makes his getaway, he finds a beaten-up woman in the apartment, and sees something in her frightened, defiant eyes that causes a crucial decision. He takes her with him on the run from New Orleans to Galveston, Texas, permanently entwining their fate along a highway of seedy bars and fleabag hotels, a world of treacherous drifters, pick-up trucks, and ashed-out hopes, with death just a car-length behind.

Nic Pizzolatto's highly acclaimed, Edgar Award-nominated thriller announces the arrival of a major new talent for fans of Dennis Lehane, James Lee Burke and Breaking Bad.

Détails sur le produit

  • Format : Format Kindle
  • Taille du fichier : 510 KB
  • Nombre de pages de l'édition imprimée : 267 pages
  • Editeur : Sphere (21 novembre 2013)
  • Vendu par : Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
  • Langue : Anglais
  • ASIN: B00GHUHK14
  • Synthèse vocale : Activée
  • X-Ray :
  • Classement des meilleures ventes d'Amazon: n°57.436 dans la Boutique Kindle (Voir le Top 100 dans la Boutique Kindle)
  •  Souhaitez-vous faire modifier les images ?


En savoir plus sur l'auteur

Découvrez des livres, informez-vous sur les écrivains, lisez des blogs d'auteurs et bien plus encore.

Quels sont les autres articles que les clients achètent après avoir regardé cet article?


Commentaires en ligne 

Il n'y a pas encore de commentaires clients sur Amazon.fr
5 étoiles
4 étoiles
3 étoiles
2 étoiles
1 étoiles
Commentaires client les plus utiles sur Amazon.com (beta)
Amazon.com: 4.2 étoiles sur 5  305 commentaires
65 internautes sur 73 ont trouvé ce commentaire utile 
5.0 étoiles sur 5 Haunting noir 16 juin 2010
Par Giddy Goody - Publié sur Amazon.com
Format:Relié
Galveston is exceptionally well-written, a Southern noir that takes recognizable genre types (the tough, smart mob enforcer and the spirited young woman) and plows deep, deep, deep into their psyches and souls. Roy Cady, the narrator and main character, is pretty much a triumphant creation; he knows that his strengths and his weaknesses are more acute than the typical, assimilated dude, and he is fully aware of the harm he can inflict, but he also seems to hit upon wells of compassion and bravery that are both surprising and completely earned. And his voice is an uncompromising wonder.

One reviewer here calls Galveston a redemption tale, but I think that may be putting too sunny a spin; there is no promise that the possible redemption offered has been worth the costs paid (a tour of the Inferno, with glimpses at Purgatory). It is more a novel about seemingly marginal individuals clawing tooth and nail for their humanity, and the world (and, quite often, their own instincts) fighting them at every step. There's a cinematic clarity, and an irresistibly dark pull, to the narrative, and the language often sings out with the sort of violent, seemingly off-hand vernacular poetry of a Denis Johnson or a Roberto Bolano (minus his post-Beat mannerisms).

Recommended for folks interested in noir novels that not only satisfy your itch for genre strengths like expert plotting and unceasing atmospherics, but that may also exceed your expectations in terms of characterization and depth of feeling.
36 internautes sur 43 ont trouvé ce commentaire utile 
5.0 étoiles sur 5 "The clouds of the old MGM Westerns" 10 juin 2010
Par Cardiff Giant - Publié sur Amazon.com
Format:Relié
"Galveston" is a first-rate page-turner, and, thank god, not for any cheap manipulations or torn from the headlines hooks, but for characters I can relate to -- emotionally, at least -- who are yanked relentlessly and often brutally into situations I can not relate to -- physically, at least. (What a concept -- a novel with characterization worthy of a "literary hit" and a plot worthy of the crime genre's masters!) What can be said except that Roy Cady escaped Springsteen's "Nebraska" album; thankfully, he found a home in Nic Pizzolatto's first novel.

Once you've finished, Pizzolatto's craftsmanship truly hits you -- his structure renders any melodramatics moot and lets you focus on the human journey, the human costs on Roy, Rocky, and Tiffany (in other words, he makes sure that you're turning this page-turner's pages for the right reasons); his sense of place and time is annoyingly pinpoint, as my shoulders stung from sunburns I did not have and my feet itched with sand that wasn't between my toes; and his language is a miracle, romantically honest (though this won't be a surprise for fans of his short story collection).

Incredible stuff here. Don't miss out.
12 internautes sur 14 ont trouvé ce commentaire utile 
3.0 étoiles sur 5 Solid modern-noir... but, well-trodden 22 février 2014
Par Amazon Customer - Publié sur Amazon.com
Format:Format Kindle
Brief: Good for a modern noir but it always left me wanting more. Solid storytelling but it was a well-trodden motif with no new angles or innovative character developments. The characters were essentially one-dimensional personalities -- something Pizzolatto seemed to have corrected in his latest work. The end -- the major plot points -- were fairly easy to suss out. All in all, it was a good, quick read, but the archetypes were obvious and stayed true to noir form. If you were expecting True Detective, this isn't it. Although, years down the line, it could show a baseline that will only show Pizzolatto's true brilliance. He is growing into his new writing style with his recent work for HBO. Evidence of TD's philosophy and vivid scene descriptions are there, albeit meekly.

Regardless, it was entertaining and I look forward to TD's conclusion and it's further iterations.
10 internautes sur 13 ont trouvé ce commentaire utile 
2.0 étoiles sur 5 True Detective is Great, This Book Isn’t. 26 février 2014
Par Larry Nocella - Publié sur Amazon.com
Format:Format Kindle|Achat vérifié
I love the show True Detective, so I couldn’t wait to try more of Nic Pizzolatto’s writing. Unfortunately, Galveston is okay at best. It has a similar nihilistic vibe as True Detective, but it just doesn’t grab.

Galveston could have been good if each pivotal moment was developed, but instead it seemed more like a short story split in half, stuffed in the middle with filler and published as a novel.

Mr. Pizzolatto can certainly write, bring characters to life and describe brutal action. The beginning of Galveston has all that and was a thrilling ride. I was excited for what was to come, but then the book slowed to a crawl in terms of character and action.

It mostly just marked time until the end, when everything happens and more than a decade passes by in one sentence. I only kept reading because I wanted to know what happened, but I kept hoping the book would get on with it or at least build up the stakes. It did neither.

Again, it seemed to me this was a great short story forced into mediocrity by making it novel-length. Without giving much away, the whole motivation and heroism of the main character could have been developed over time, but it came in a quick burst after the boring middle part. Then the book was done. The wait wasn’t worth the payoff. The whole thing seemed rushed.

All that said, I love True Detective so much, I'll definitely read more by Mr. Pizzolatto: his existing short stories and anything he writes in the future. He’s certainly talented, but regarding Galveston, those talents are obscured by the plodding nature of the book.

Larry Nocella
Author of the novel, The Katrina Contract, available on Amazon
3 internautes sur 3 ont trouvé ce commentaire utile 
3.0 étoiles sur 5 It was ok, i guess 10 juillet 2014
Par Emily Anne Leonard - Publié sur Amazon.com
Format:Format Kindle|Achat vérifié
i really loved True Detective and I had heard that this novel by the series' writer was great, too. It wasn't.

To be clear, I didn't read Galveston because I expected it to be a prequel to True Detective, or in any other way similar to the show. I thought the writing on the series was outstanding, and I figured a book by the same author would also contain outstanding writing. That being said, the book was just....okay. The story was OK enough to keep me reading until the end. But the ending felt anticlimactic to say the least. I guess the word I would use to describe this book is underwhelming.
Ces commentaires ont-ils été utiles ?   Dites-le-nous

Discussions entre clients

Le forum concernant ce produit
Discussion Réponses Message le plus récent
Pas de discussions pour l'instant

Posez des questions, partagez votre opinion, gagnez en compréhension
Démarrer une nouvelle discussion
Thème:
Première publication:
Aller s'identifier
 

Rechercher parmi les discussions des clients
Rechercher dans toutes les discussions Amazon
   


Rechercher des articles similaires par rubrique