Livraison gratuite en 1 jour ouvré avec Amazon Premium
Commencez à lire ONCE WE WERE KINGS (English Edition) sur votre Kindle dans moins d'une minute. Vous n'avez pas encore de Kindle ? Achetez-le ici Ou commencez à lire dès maintenant avec l'une de nos applications de lecture Kindle gratuites.

Envoyer sur votre Kindle ou un autre appareil

 
 
 

Essai gratuit

Découvrez gratuitement un extrait de ce titre

Envoyer sur votre Kindle ou un autre appareil

ONCE WE WERE KINGS (English Edition)
 
Agrandissez cette image
 

ONCE WE WERE KINGS (English Edition) [Format Kindle]

Ian Alexander , Joshua Graham

Prix éditeur - format imprimé : EUR 24,94
Prix Kindle : EUR 4,95 TTC & envoi gratuit via réseau sans fil par Amazon Whispernet
Économisez : EUR 19,99 (80%)

App de lecture Kindle gratuite Tout le monde peut lire les livres Kindle, même sans un appareil Kindle, grâce à l'appli Kindle GRATUITE pour les smartphones, les tablettes et les ordinateurs.

Pour obtenir l'appli gratuite, saisissez votre adresse e-mail ou numéro de téléphone mobile.

Formats

Prix Amazon Neuf à partir de Occasion à partir de
Format Kindle EUR 4,95  
Relié EUR 25,36  




Souhaitez un Joyeux Noël à vos proches en leur offrant des chèques-cadeaux Amazon.fr.



Descriptions du produit

Présentation de l'éditeur

(For fans of Narnia, C.S. Lewis, Rick Riordan, Terry Brooks, Terry Goodkind, Brandon Sanderson, Harry Potter, Eragon, Christopher Paolini, Robert Jordan, Tolkien, Lord of the Rings)

WINNER OF THE 2012 INTERNATIONAL BOOK AWARD

Once We Were Kings is the first book in Ian Alexander's Sojourner Saga, a new YA Epic Fantasy series.

From the Back Cover
In a world where the Sojourners, a nearly extinct race with preternatural abilities struggle to preserve their faith and heritage, destiny thrusts two youths from opposing nations into the heart of a centuries-old conflict.

Render, an orphan from the outskirts of the culturally enlightened Kingdom of Valdshire Tor, escapes slavery and seeks the truth about his true identity only to discover a web of conspiracies. This quest leads to the revelation of his uncanny ability to wield the destructive forces of nature.

Ahndien, sole survivor of a heinous raid on her peaceful village in the Eastern Kingdom of Tian Kuo, embarks on a journey to find her father, now a captive of Torian troops. What she uncovers surpasses anything she can imagine as she masters the ability to manipulate fire.

Guided by shape-shifting spirits, Render and Ahndien's fates collide when first they meet as mortal enemies. However, to save their people from annihilation, they must unite both kingdoms against a terrifying enemy that threatens to destroy both realms.
But how can a young slave and a peasant bring sworn enemies of half a millennium together?

ONCE WE WERE KINGS: The first book in a saga of destiny and redemption, in a world of dying hope.

"This novel will quickly take it's deserved place alongside such classics as "The Chronicles of Narnia" and George R.R. Martin's Game of Thrones" --K. Price, Amazon Reviewer

About the Author:
Winner of the 2011 International Book Awards, Joshua Graham writing as Ian Alexander, wrote this book at the request of his then 6-year old son who is a fan of The Chronicles of Narnia by C.S. Lewis, and Wizard's First Rule by Terry Goodkind. The request yielded not only the first book ONCE WE WERE KINGS, but a series, the sequels of which will soon be released.

ONCE WE WERE KINGS is a Young Adult Fantasy novel, but has been enjoyed by thousands of readers world wide from young adult to senior. It has been a #1 bestseller on two Religious Science Fiction & Fantasy lists on Amazon and is available in Kindle Edition and Hardcover Edition as well.


Visit the official Ian Alexander Website at: ianalex.com
On Facebook: on.fb.me/IanAlex
Twitter: @IanAlex77

Détails sur le produit

  • Format : Format Kindle
  • Taille du fichier : 540 KB
  • Nombre de pages de l'édition imprimée : 490 pages
  • Editeur : Dawn Treader Press; Édition : 3.1 (23 avril 2014)
  • Vendu par : Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
  • Langue : Anglais
  • ASIN: B005Z5FFRS
  • Synthèse vocale : Activée
  • X-Ray :
  • Word Wise: Non activé
  • Classement des meilleures ventes d'Amazon: n°239.303 dans la Boutique Kindle (Voir le Top 100 dans la Boutique Kindle)
  •  Souhaitez-vous faire modifier les images ?


En savoir plus sur les auteurs

Découvrez des livres, informez-vous sur les écrivains, lisez des blogs d'auteurs et bien plus encore.

Commentaires en ligne

Il n'y a pas encore de commentaires clients sur Amazon.fr
5 étoiles
4 étoiles
3 étoiles
2 étoiles
1 étoiles
Commentaires client les plus utiles sur Amazon.com (beta)
Amazon.com: 4.0 étoiles sur 5  54 commentaires
23 internautes sur 28 ont trouvé ce commentaire utile 
5.0 étoiles sur 5 Once We Were Kings is an amazing epic adventure that will take the reader on an unforgettable journey like no other. 23 avril 2012
Par A. Pohren - Publié sur Amazon.com
Format:Format Kindle|Achat vérifié
Once We Were Kings is an amazing epic adventure that will take the reader on an unforgettable journey like no other.

As I settled in with my Kindle and it's newest arrival, Once We Were Kings, I was not truly sure what to expect. I knew it was dubbed an "epic fantasy", and of course the synopsis, which caught my intrigue. Previously, I had found myself in a bit of one of those horrid reading slumps (nasty things), which I was looking to be released from. With that in mind, I clicked to the beginning of Once We Were Kings...

Nasty reading slump... BE GONE... I was immediately sucked into the story, it's words absorbing me and surrounding me with amazing imagery, emotion and distinctiveness like none other I had ever read before. The language that Mr. Alexander uses is truly poetic and beautiful, as well as enduring to the time period for which the dialog and tale is written.

The tale of a young boy, Render, whose life has been one of strife and heartache, as well as a young girl, Ahndien, who finds herself alone, after her family and village has been brutally raided, held me entranced from beginning to end. Once We Were Kings begins by telling the story of Render and Ahndien, each in their own settings, each believing the other's people are evil, vile and bloodthirsty. Circumstances soon bring the two youths together to bring peace to a warring and unforgiving realm. After centuries of battles, it is time for the two kingdoms, the Kingdom of Valdshire Tor and the Eastern Kingdom of Tian Kuo to join and become one Kingdom in peace. It is up to Render and Ahndien to make this peace a reality and overcome the evil that is trying to overcome and prevail.

Once We Were Kings is a story of Heaven vs. Hell, goodness vs. evil. This is a tale that is truly a generation bridging epic fantasy that is sure to span and hold strong through the test of time as well as our ever changing society and circumstances of readers everywhere. In Once We Were Kings, there is no geographic, sex, class, religion or race focus, rather it is a story of focus on belief, forgiveness and redemption to those who truly believe and seek goodness and truth.

Ian Alexander brings before readers a tale of fantasy and humanity. Once We Were Kings will appeal to a vast and endless audience range, from young adult to adult, males and females. Encompassed within these pages is action, adventure, intrigue, romance and even shape-shifting spirits. Beneath the superb story lies the lessons of faith and the battle between God (Valhandra) and the Devil (Malakandor), told in a way that will not put off those who do not enjoy religious-based fiction. Once We Were Kings is the first in a series by Ian Alexander and the ending is the perfect segue into future books.

Last night, I clicked the final page with a smile upon my face and eagerness in my heart for future endeavors with Render and Ahndien. Once We Were Kings is a magical and emotional tale (I often found my heart gripped within sadness, as well as bursting with joy). I was truly blown away by the magnificent of the story and truly cannot recommend it enough. Compared to The Chronicles of Narnia by C.S. Lewis, I found myself agreeing with this likeness. Though Once We Were Kings has a delightful and wonderful uniqueness all its own. A true classic in the making.
16 internautes sur 19 ont trouvé ce commentaire utile 
3.0 étoiles sur 5 Fascinating Magic 22 octobre 2011
Par Anne Ford - Publié sur Amazon.com
Format:Relié
I liked the inventive magic which Mr. Alexander used. Most epic fantasies tend to stay in the well trod ground of European folklore (even if it is Middle Earth), but this one ventures out into Asia, which was a nice change. I especially like the shape changing into animals which he used. The characters were interesting and had believable conflicts and emotions. I would definitely put this in the YA or middle grade category.
11 internautes sur 15 ont trouvé ce commentaire utile 
1.0 étoiles sur 5 Poor Writing and Awkward Allegory 28 février 2012
Par L. Whittle - Publié sur Amazon.com
Format:Format Kindle
I bought this for my Kindle under its original title The Kobalt Dragon due to to the glowing reviews. I found it impossible to finish, and how anyone could compare this writer to C.S. Lewis and J.R.R. Tolkien amazes me. The writing is awkward,full of errors, and the plot meandering, and the religious allegory is heavy-handed and overdone. Tolkien disliked allegory, and this book makes me see why. Stick to Narnia and Middle-Earth, or read Lloyd Alexander, Susan Cooper, or Guy Gavriel Kay if you want well-written and original fantasy. Or if you like religious fiction read The Screwtape Letters by Lewis or The Pilgrim's Progress by Bunyan. This book is badly written fantasy and simplistic allegory. For good fantasy with a strong moral element consider Susan Cooper, or Guy Gavriel Kay.
2 internautes sur 2 ont trouvé ce commentaire utile 
3.0 étoiles sur 5 Action packed 12 juillet 2013
Par carol.brasil - Publié sur Amazon.com
Format:Format Kindle|Achat vérifié
A good adventure book for boys (teens) which include magic and fantasy. It's a little unfocused at times, but has lots of action, fighting, and mystery. I enjoyed reading it even if I'm not a teen boy.
1 internautes sur 1 ont trouvé ce commentaire utile 
4.0 étoiles sur 5 good read! fun, creative, powerful and mysterious 5 novembre 2014
Par Susie Skavdahl - Publié sur Amazon.com
Format:Format Kindle|Achat vérifié
I enjoyed reading this story. I originally chose to read it because I have liked reading many of Lloyd Alexander's books and thought Ian Alexander might be related. The story has biblical elements that point to Christ, the White Dragon and God as the character called Valhandra. There is a satanic force, or evil force In the black dragon. So the story has all the makings for a battle of good and evil. The satan like force is referred to as Gods son, who chose evil, which I disagree with, the bible refers to satan as a fallen angel, not as Gods bad son.
Ces commentaires ont-ils été utiles ?   Dites-le-nous

Discussions entre clients

Le forum concernant ce produit
Discussion Réponses Message le plus récent
Pas de discussions pour l'instant

Posez des questions, partagez votre opinion, gagnez en compréhension
Démarrer une nouvelle discussion
Thème:
Première publication:
Aller s'identifier
 

Rechercher parmi les discussions des clients
Rechercher dans toutes les discussions Amazon
   


Rechercher des articles similaires par rubrique