Livraison gratuite en 1 jour ouvré avec Amazon Premium
Commencez à lire Cut Short (BOOK 1 in DI Geraldine Steel Series) sur votre Kindle dans moins d'une minute. Vous n'avez pas encore de Kindle ? Achetez-le ici Ou commencez à lire dès maintenant avec l'une de nos applications de lecture Kindle gratuites.

Envoyer sur votre Kindle ou un autre appareil

 
 
 

Essai gratuit

Découvrez gratuitement un extrait de ce titre

Envoyer sur votre Kindle ou un autre appareil

Cut Short (BOOK 1 in DI Geraldine Steel Series)
 
Agrandissez cette image
 

Cut Short (BOOK 1 in DI Geraldine Steel Series) [Format Kindle]

Leigh Russell
3.0 étoiles sur 5  Voir tous les commentaires (3 commentaires client)

Prix conseillé : EUR 1,29 De quoi s'agit-il ?
Prix éditeur - format imprimé : EUR 5,81
Prix Kindle : EUR 0,99 TTC & envoi gratuit via réseau sans fil par Amazon Whispernet
Économisez : EUR 4,82 (83%)

App de lecture Kindle gratuite Tout le monde peut lire les livres Kindle, même sans un appareil Kindle, grâce à l'appli Kindle GRATUITE pour les smartphones, les tablettes et les ordinateurs.

Pour obtenir l'appli gratuite, saisissez votre adresse e-mail ou numéro de téléphone mobile.

Formats

Prix Amazon Neuf à partir de Occasion à partir de
Format Kindle EUR 0,99  
Broché EUR 10,60  
Poche EUR 5,92  




Du 1er au 18 décembre, Amazon verse 1€ à l’association Les Nez Rouges pour tout achat d’un chèque-cadeau de 40€ avec le code "NEZROUGES" afin d'offrir des cadeaux de Noël aux enfants hospitalisés.



Descriptions du produit

Revue de presse

Cut Short is a stylish, top-of-the-line crime tale, a seamless blending of psychological sophistication and gritty police procedure. And you’re just plain going to love DI Geraldine Steel’ (Jeffrey Deaver)

“Russell paints a careful and intriguing portrait of a small British community while developing a compassionate and complex heroine who’s sure to win fans.” (Publishers Weekly)

“gritty and totally addictive debut novel” (New York Journal of Books)

Présentation de l'éditeur

BOOK 1 in the DI Geraldine Steel Series

In the tradition of Ruth Rendell, Lynda la Plante, Frances Fyfield and Barbara Vine, Cut Short is a gripping psychological thriller that introduces D.I. Geraldine Steel, a woman whose past is threatening to collide with her future.


Détails sur le produit


En savoir plus sur l'auteur

Découvrez des livres, informez-vous sur les écrivains, lisez des blogs d'auteurs et bien plus encore.

Quels sont les autres articles que les clients achètent après avoir regardé cet article?


Commentaires en ligne

3.0 étoiles sur 5
3.0 étoiles sur 5
Commentaires client les plus utiles
5.0 étoiles sur 5 Cut short 31 mai 2014
Par nanny
Format:Format Kindle|Achat vérifié
A gripping story It kept my attention right to the end .I like the way her books flow with plenty of characters but easy to follow.
Avez-vous trouvé ce commentaire utile ?
3.0 étoiles sur 5 Predictable 11 décembre 2014
Par Mme H.
Format:Format Kindle|Achat vérifié
This is the first story I've read by this author and although I did enjoy it I found it a bit slow in places and somewhat predictable. Will try the next one though and see how we go.
Avez-vous trouvé ce commentaire utile ?
1.0 étoiles sur 5 Predictable 17 novembre 2014
Par elly
Format:Format Kindle|Achat vérifié
Not very good writer a quick unpretentious read though
I would not recommend it
Nor advise to buy this book
Avez-vous trouvé ce commentaire utile ?
Commentaires client les plus utiles sur Amazon.com (beta)
Amazon.com: 4.0 étoiles sur 5  20 commentaires
9 internautes sur 10 ont trouvé ce commentaire utile 
4.0 étoiles sur 5 "The force won't tolerate maverick officers." 16 avril 2011
Par Patto - Publié sur Amazon.com
Format:Broché|Achat vérifié
The hunt for a serial killer is on in the small town of Woolsmarsh. The Incident Room is full of detectives eager for a quick arrest. But Geraldine Steel, recently promoted to Detective Inspector, has been warned by her superior to play it by the book. She has a reputation for being something of a maverick. Not a team player.

Geraldine combines a strong intuitive streak with a workaholic temperament. She's often still on the case while the rest of the team is sleeping. She'll show up at work in the middle of the night to take one more look at the transcripts of phone messages and interviews, searching for a missed clue.

Both the leader of the investigation and the main character are female, which allows the author to explore the challenges women face dealing with brutal crimes and a brutal job.

The plot moves right along, with an interesting twist at the end.

I found Cut Short an absorbing read. I wouldn't consider it in a league with Ruth Rendell's psychological thrillers (as the jacket copy suggests). But if you'd enjoy a fast-paced police procedural featuring a woman police officer in a contemporary British setting, Cut Short might be just the thing.
10 internautes sur 12 ont trouvé ce commentaire utile 
4.0 étoiles sur 5 "He was playing hide and seek. And when he found me... he was going to kill me." 5 mars 2010
Par Luan Gaines - Publié sur Amazon.com
Format:Broché
Detective Inspector Geraldine Steel leaves her old life behind when she relocates to a rural area, including a failed romance. Expecting her job to be less stressful as a part of the mobile Murder Investigation Team in Woolmarsh, Steel has barely gotten settled when a shocking murder sends the team into action. Under the stewardship of DCI Kathryn Gordon, Steel is conscious of her role as a senior detective, the majority of the team being male. But Geraldine is a go-getter, which certainly has contributed to the demise of her relationship; in essence, Geraldine is married to the job. Mostly, that's a safe place for this driven protagonist, her single-minded attention to detail the reason for her success. The loneliness that Steel suffers along the way is the price she is willing to pay.

The strangulation murder of a helpless young girl in Woolmarsh Park creates havoc in the neighborhood, the police- or "filth" as some choose to call the authorities- are determined to turn over every rock to find this killer. While Russell's driven Detective Inspector reflects a serious work ethic and the tedium of real investigation, it is the killer who brings another level of horror to this tale. Living in his own universe, with a twisted and disturbed perspective of the world, the killer is compulsive, increasingly violent and comfortable with being overlooked by passersby, a quality that allows him to pass, unnoticed, sneaking up behind helpless victims, overpowering them as he snuffs out their lives. A faceless murderer nobody remembers- the murder squad is frustrated at every turn, unable to find any links to identify a suspect as one murder after another terrifies the public.

The supporting characters are quirky, part of the fabric of this quietly stunning thriller, a young Detective Sergeant who sees more than Steel is prepared to deal with, a sleazy boyfriend who beats his girlfriend but stops short of murder and a helpful school teacher whose brush with the killer puts her in grave danger. As the body count rises, Geraldine reverts to her instinct for detail, the odd fact that will lead her directly to the demented killer, perhaps even make her his next victim. A grim and satisfying read, starring a great protagonist. Luan Gaines/2010.
3 internautes sur 3 ont trouvé ce commentaire utile 
5.0 étoiles sur 5 Excellent read 1 avril 2011
Par Noir Fan - Publié sur Amazon.com
Format:Broché
Bought this after seeing crime writer Sam Millar's review of it on New York Journal of Books, a while back. Just got round to reading it. Very fast thriller, and a great, original character. The writing is very strong, and Geraldine Steel is an an arresting female lead (sorry about the pun). Highly recommended. Great for a plane journey.
2 internautes sur 2 ont trouvé ce commentaire utile 
4.0 étoiles sur 5 Private Life while Working Hard Hours 3 décembre 2013
Par elly - Publié sur Amazon.com
Format:Format Kindle|Achat vérifié
Woman detective who works hard, tries to stick to her case and keep her private life alive. It is not easy to do but she tries hard and keeps your attention.
3 internautes sur 4 ont trouvé ce commentaire utile 
5.0 étoiles sur 5 First Cut 28 avril 2010
Par Foggy Tewsday - Publié sur Amazon.com
Format:Broché
"In the tradition of Ruth Rendell, Lynda la Plante, Frances Fyfield and Barbara Vine" says the cover blurb. I would also suggest that fans of the underrated Margaret Yorke may well enjoy Leigh Russell's debut novel.

The premise of `Cut Short' may not, at first glance, strike one as particularly inspiring. I mean how many more series revolving around the lives of police officers do we need? This novel introduces us to Detective Inspector Geraldine Steel. It's probably fair to say that as a character, Steel is not particularly noteworthy. Rather, she comes across as a workaday DI, and there's not much that marks her out as different from the rest of the fictional cops that grace the nation's bookshelves.

Having said that, I should make one thing clear: I absolutely loved this book and I'm avidly looking forward to the next in the series, Road Closed.

What we know about DI Steel is that she is 37 years old and newly single following the break-up of a long-term relationship. She is moving into a new home in what she thinks is a sleepy village. Unfortunately for her, there is a rude awakening when a killer picks off his first victim.

Where this novel scores highly is in its pacing. We are introduced to various characters: the murderer, his victims and those caught in the aftermath of the killer's actions. The brevity of the chapters keep the story bubbling along and the staccato style is topped off with one-word chapter titles. As the police desperately try to track down the killer, we are afforded glimpses into the vagaries of life in modern Britain: the haves and have nots, the greedy and the vain. This is not a whodunit. The killer is introduced very quickly although his name and motivations are not revealed until later in the story.

Geraldine Steel's character is not really fleshed out enough, but as this is only the first in the series, I'm assuming that this will be gradually addressed as and when more stories follow (the author's blog indicates that the third book is currently a work in progress and that there's likely to be a fourth). It's really the police characters who are more sketchily drawn in `Cut Short'. However, to her credit, the author doesn't try to make this a complicated yarn; it's a relatively simple story, simply told.

My criticisms aren't much more than nit-picking really. This is a sparkling debut from an author who you feel could turn her hand to other genres should she choose to do so. Highly recommended.
Ces commentaires ont-ils été utiles ?   Dites-le-nous
Rechercher des commentaires
Rechercher uniquement parmi les commentaires portant sur ce produit

Discussions entre clients

Le forum concernant ce produit
Discussion Réponses Message le plus récent
Pas de discussions pour l'instant

Posez des questions, partagez votre opinion, gagnez en compréhension
Démarrer une nouvelle discussion
Thème:
Première publication:
Aller s'identifier
 

Rechercher parmi les discussions des clients
Rechercher dans toutes les discussions Amazon
   


Rechercher des articles similaires par rubrique