Commencez à lire Stallions at Burnt Rock (West Texas Sunrise Book #1) sur votre Kindle dans moins d'une minute. Vous n'avez pas encore de Kindle ? Achetez-le ici Ou commencez à lire dès maintenant avec l'une de nos applications de lecture Kindle gratuites.

Envoyer sur votre Kindle ou un autre appareil

 
 
 

Essai gratuit

Découvrez gratuitement un extrait de ce titre

Envoyer sur votre Kindle ou un autre appareil

Désolé, cet article n'est pas disponible en
Image non disponible pour la
couleur :
Image non disponible
 

Stallions at Burnt Rock (West Texas Sunrise Book #1): A Novel [Format Kindle]

Paul Bagdon

Prix conseillé : EUR 5,86 De quoi s'agit-il ?
Prix Kindle : EUR 4,10 TTC & envoi gratuit via réseau sans fil par Amazon Whispernet
Économisez : EUR 1,76 (30%)

App de lecture Kindle gratuite Tout le monde peut lire les livres Kindle, même sans un appareil Kindle, grâce à l'appli Kindle GRATUITE pour les smartphones, les tablettes et les ordinateurs.

Pour obtenir l'appli gratuite, saisissez votre adresse e-mail ou numéro de téléphone mobile.

Formats

Prix Amazon Neuf à partir de Occasion à partir de
Format Kindle EUR 4,10  
Relié --  
Broché --  





Descriptions du produit

Présentation de l'éditeur

West Texas Sunrise, Book 1

Determined to prove she can raise the best ranch horses in the West, strong-minded Lee Morgan agrees to pit her prize coal-black stallion, Slick, against a neighboring rancher's flashy bay steed in a race of endurance. As news of the match spreads, gamblers and gunslingers pour into the formerly sleepy 1870s town of Burnt Rock, Texas. They place their bets and create a surge of lawlessness that threatens to turn the town upside down.

Although Marshall Ben Flood relies on his quick draw to keep the peace, he is in constant danger, and Lee wonders if she's made a terrible mistake in entering the race. When a tragic death triggers suspicion of something sinister afoot, Lee takes matters into her own hands. And in the most thrilling ride of her life, she must summon every ounce of courage and faith she possesses to face down the evil that threatens her life, her ranch, and the man she loves.

Détails sur le produit

  • Format : Format Kindle
  • Taille du fichier : 1256 KB
  • Nombre de pages de l'édition imprimée : 192 pages
  • Editeur : Revell (1 février 2003)
  • Vendu par : Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
  • Langue : Anglais
  • ASIN: B007764PNS
  • Synthèse vocale : Activée
  • X-Ray :
  • Word Wise: Non activé
  •  Souhaitez-vous faire modifier les images ?


En savoir plus sur l'auteur

Découvrez des livres, informez-vous sur les écrivains, lisez des blogs d'auteurs et bien plus encore.

Commentaires en ligne

Il n'y a pas encore de commentaires clients sur Amazon.fr
5 étoiles
4 étoiles
3 étoiles
2 étoiles
1 étoiles
Commentaires client les plus utiles sur Amazon.com (beta)
Amazon.com: 4.4 étoiles sur 5  208 commentaires
29 internautes sur 29 ont trouvé ce commentaire utile 
5.0 étoiles sur 5 Very good western 21 mars 2003
Par Huntress Reviews - Publié sur Amazon.com
Format:Broché
Lee Morgan is an oddity among women. She is no Southern Belle, but a horse rancher, tough and strong as any man. Determined to prove her capability, she agrees to race her stallion against a neighbor's, despite her misgivings about the wisdom of gambling and horse racing.
The races have brought danger and a low element to Burnt Rock, making Marshall Ben Flood's life harder. It also endangers both him and Lee. The wildness evolves into murder. It is too late to stop the race though, and it will take every resource in Lee to win it. Faith and courage are key elements to proving herself.
***** This innocent novel will appeal to fans of Louis L'Amour and Zane Grey. It shows that faith can carry into every aspect of life, even those not traditionally thought of as requiring it. Both parents and children can share this book as a family read.
13 internautes sur 13 ont trouvé ce commentaire utile 
5.0 étoiles sur 5 Stallions at Burnt Rock 17 février 2003
Par Un client - Publié sur Amazon.com
Format:Broché
This was an excellent western novel. The author wove an interesting fictional story with accurate horse information and christian values.
6 internautes sur 6 ont trouvé ce commentaire utile 
4.0 étoiles sur 5 Nice flowing story 5 mars 2014
Par Amazon Customer - Publié sur Amazon.com
Format:Format Kindle|Achat vérifié
Good western, NOT full of sex and violence. Enough excitement to keep one interested. The characters and story were believable I enjoyed it and recommend to all western enthusiasts
3 internautes sur 3 ont trouvé ce commentaire utile 
5.0 étoiles sur 5 Very good 18 mars 2014
Par don bachman - Publié sur Amazon.com
Format:Format Kindle|Achat vérifié
I appreciate the absence of profanity. Writer has gift of writing to grab your attention. What more do you want? If it can be descirbed in few words why add others just to make the correct number of words?
4 internautes sur 5 ont trouvé ce commentaire utile 
3.0 étoiles sur 5 An old-fashioned western with a zealous Christian theme 27 mars 2014
Par MoHurley - Publié sur Amazon.com
Format:Format Kindle|Achat vérifié
An old-fashioned penny western that centers around horse breeder, spinster Lee Morgan, who inherited her grandfather's West Texas ranch and bloodstock. The story is an examination of a Christian woman making a go of horse breeding in the Wild West during the 1870s, and the foibles it generates. Everything begins to unravel at the upcoming horse race between her black stallion, Slick, and a neighbor's bay stud. The gamblers and con-men all ride into town and take over, making her sweetheart, Marshall Ben Flood's job, particularly dangerous.

Like all westerns, everything is drawn in extremes of black and white. The bad guys are unredeemably bad, the heroine is virtuous (if a little unorthodox), and the good guys really do win in the end. Westerns are not my favorite genre, I was really there for the horses. Lee Morgan, the great-great-great-great granddaughter of Justin Morgan, who hoped to introduce a new breed of endurance western horse based on Morgan bloodstock. As a kid, I devoured horse books: Anna Sewell's Black Beauty, Walter Farley's Black Stallion series, Mary O'Hara's My Friend Flicka, and particularly Thunderhead; my picturebooks, Justin Morgan Had a Horse, King of the Wind, and Misty of Chincoteague, all fell apart from overuse.

I agree with another reviewer, Erica, that the the Christian moralizing theme used to carry the story was a bit heavy-handed. I usually skim over those parts (or avoid those stories). But it was interjected so many times to explain protagonist's headset, and actions, it turned into a writer's crutch. Zealous Christians were also a part of the makeup of the West. I get that. But it also made for some tedious reading. This book is more Louis L'Amour than Zane Grey, who did a better job of getting inside his characters heads. The book is lean, and well written. An easy chair read. No sex, but definitely plenty of violence. And a lot of faith in Christian values wins the day.

I'm an avid horse buff, having grown up on horseback, I've attended my fair share of horse shows, rodeos, and gymkhanas (as a competitor). I too was thrown by the author's description of a horse with a white 'bib' I began to wonder whether he really knew horses as much as he proclaimed. Chrome, maybe. The rest seems authentic. Maybe he was at a loss describing a pinto or a paint. Horses don't have bibs. Blazes, stars, socks, yes, but not white bibs like a Boston terrier, or cat.

But author Paul Bagdon's bio indicated that he has an armload of 24 western books (and 250 articles and short stories) under his rodeo belt buckle, and he teaches for Writers' Digest. Hmmm. Other readers, Julie, Sam B. Wagner, and Packy Trucker, all noted that Bagdon didn't know his guns (I confess I know batsht about guns, other than they go bang), so I guess there's room for doubt, despite Bagdon's impressive credentials.

Apparently, this book is the first in a series (West Texas Sunrise Book #1), published in 2003, but there doesn't seem to be s sequel. Perhaps it hasn't yet been transcribed over to an ebook manuscript. Maybe he'll revise the rest and get the guns working right. I look forward to reading more about the horses, and whether or not Lee Morgan was successful, in the end. If she'd only introduce some Arab blood broodmares, she just might get that savvy western endurance super horse she's looking for.
Ces commentaires ont-ils été utiles ?   Dites-le-nous

Discussions entre clients

Le forum concernant ce produit
Discussion Réponses Message le plus récent
Pas de discussions pour l'instant

Posez des questions, partagez votre opinion, gagnez en compréhension
Démarrer une nouvelle discussion
Thème:
Première publication:
Aller s'identifier
 

Rechercher parmi les discussions des clients
Rechercher dans toutes les discussions Amazon
   


Rechercher des articles similaires par rubrique