Supreme Justice: A Novel of Suspense et plus d'un million d'autres livres sont disponibles pour le Kindle d'Amazon. En savoir plus
  • Tous les prix incluent la TVA.
Il ne reste plus que 5 exemplaire(s) en stock (d'autres exemplaires sont en cours d'acheminement).
Expédié et vendu par Amazon.
Emballage cadeau disponible.
Quantité :1
Supreme Justice: A Novel ... a été ajouté à votre Panier
+ EUR 2,99 (livraison)
D'occasion: Bon | Détails
État: D'occasion: Bon
Commentaire: Ships from USA. Please allow 2 to 3 weeks for delivery. Book shows a small amount of wear to cover and binding. Some pages show signs of use. Sail the seas of value.
Vous l'avez déjà ?
Repliez vers l'arrière Repliez vers l'avant
Ecoutez Lecture en cours... Interrompu   Vous écoutez un extrait de l'édition audio Audible
En savoir plus
Voir cette image

Supreme Justice: A Novel of Suspense (Anglais) Poche – 25 janvier 2011


Voir les 9 formats et éditions Masquer les autres formats et éditions
Prix Amazon Neuf à partir de Occasion à partir de
Format Kindle
"Veuillez réessayer"
Poche
"Veuillez réessayer"
EUR 4,70
EUR 1,64 EUR 0,01
Broché
"Veuillez réessayer"
EUR 0,40
CD audio, Livre audio
"Veuillez réessayer"

Descriptions du produit

Revue de presse

“Entertaining. . . . Thriller fans who like to see the villains receive their just rewards and the good guys come to no harm will find this a comforting read.” (Publishers Weekly)

“[An] intriguing glimpse into the inner workings of the court. As always with Margolin, roller-coaster plot propels the action along, with plenty of twists and turns to keep things interesting.” (The Portland Oregonian)

“Margolin’s latest is a fast-paced yarn connecting a Supreme Court vacancy, a death row inmate, an ex-CIA chief and an attack on another Justice.” (New York Post, Required Reading)

“Get ready for a page-turning thriller. . . . [It] will keep you guessing until the last page.” (National Examiner)

“A good old fashioned political thriller. . . . Supreme Justice is a simple pleasure. . . . An exciting and enjoyable mystery.” (Huffington Post)

“Margolin creates a tangled plot. . . . The ending was deliciously devious.” (Bellingham Herald)

“A wry twist ending . . . puts a legal cherry on top of this satisfying gulp of Supreme Justice.” (Clarion Ledger)

“Margolin has come up with a winning recipe for success: by combining his legal expertise and experience with attention-grabbing characters and surprising storylines, he’s assured himself a secure spot in a genre known for keeping people guessing.” (Cascadia Weekly)

“Action speeds along through 65 fast-paced chapters with more bodies along the way. . . . But don’t think you can solve this one on your own. Just when you think it’s wrapping up, there is another surprise.” (The Oklahoman)

Présentation de l'éditeur

“A master of plot and pacing—and one of those rare authors who can create a genuinely surprising ending.”

 — Lisa Scottoline

 

“It takes a really crafty storyteller to put people on the edge of their seats and keep them there. Phillip Margolin does just that.”

Chicago Tribune

 

The crew from the New York Times bestseller Executive Privilege is back in another pulse-racing thriller from Phillip Margolin. Fans of John Grisham, David Baldacci, James Patterson, and Scott Turow—as well as Margolin’s own immensely popular Amanda and Frank Jaffe books like Fugitive, Wild Justice, and Proof Positive—won’t be able to put down Supreme Justice until the last spellbinding page.

 



Détails sur le produit


En savoir plus sur l'auteur

Découvrez des livres, informez-vous sur les écrivains, lisez des blogs d'auteurs et bien plus encore.

Dans ce livre (En savoir plus)
Parcourir les pages échantillon
Couverture | Copyright | Extrait | Quatrième de couverture
Rechercher dans ce livre:

Commentaires en ligne

Il n'y a pas encore de commentaires clients sur Amazon.fr
5 étoiles
4 étoiles
3 étoiles
2 étoiles
1 étoiles

Commentaires client les plus utiles sur Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: 131 commentaires
28 internautes sur 31 ont trouvé ce commentaire utile 
3.5 stars for a solid, engaging legal thriller 11 mai 2010
Par J. Lee - Publié sur Amazon.com
Format: Relié Commentaire client Vine pour produit gratuit ( De quoi s'agit-il? )
I read Margolin's previous Executive Privilege and really enjoyed it. This is a good, solid engaging legal thriller, but, for me, didn't live up to the prior one.

Short summary: Brad Miller is back from Executive Privilege where he helped crack the case that brought the former President down. Now, he's working for a Supreme Court Justice - and a case emerges that it appears someone is going to great lengths to prevent the Supreme Court from allowing it to be re-examined. Who is doing that and why?

Here's the ups and downs of it to me:

- Though able to be read as a stand alone, it'll be harder to enjoy that way, since references from the previous book kept getting made about the various characters. I found it distracting, and don't think they're terribly helpful to the new Margolin reader.

- It is well-plotted, so all the pieces get wrapped up nicely, and there's a few twists. But, I didn't find it as page-turning as some thrillers can be.

Bottom-line: It's as good as a lot of the average Turow or Grishams works, and if you like them, you'll probably like this one. But, I would really recommend Executive Privilege before and over this one.
17 internautes sur 19 ont trouvé ce commentaire utile 
3 1/2 Stars -- Supreme Justice Is The Book Equivalent To A Light Beer! 23 mai 2010
Par bobbewig - Publié sur Amazon.com
Format: Relié Commentaire client Vine pour produit gratuit ( De quoi s'agit-il? )
At the heart of this highly plot-driven book is the petition before the Supreme Court for a writ of certiorari by a woman on death row in Oregon convicted of murdering her lover. Stemming from the heart is a series of side stories that go back and forth in time involving Supreme Court Justices, their law clerks, the FBI, DAs, a female private detective and a former head of the CIA. In its favor, Supreme Justice is a fast-paced, entertaining book that adequately satisfies your craving for a brief diversion from life's daily realities. Margolin does a pretty good job in tying the main plot and all of its side stories into a decent, though partially predictable, conclusion. It is an ideal read for a plane ride or a trip to the beach. However, in my opinion, due to Margolin's somewhat shallow characters that are, at best, serviceable, and to some of the mulitple story lines being a bit contrived, Supreme Justice is not a book that will provide readers with a full, rich sense of satisfaction that will stay with them for a while after they've finished it. For me, reading Supreme Justice was like drinking a light beer, in that it served to quench my thirst for the moment, but it did not leave me feeling sated like a more full-bodied beer does. Nor did it make me feel the need for another "Margolin" anytime soon.
7 internautes sur 7 ont trouvé ce commentaire utile 
Not bad, but forgettable 11 mai 2010
Par Rad63 - Publié sur Amazon.com
Format: Relié Commentaire client Vine pour produit gratuit ( De quoi s'agit-il? )
"Supreme Justice" is a readable book, but is not an unforgettable book. It starts out with an exciting first chapter leading one to expect a taut political or espionage thriller. The book then skips around and introduces new characters including lawyers, Supreme Court Justices, DAs, private detectives, law clerks, etc. It skips around in time and space. The first chapter character later reappears. There is a female cop, Sarah, who is indicted for murdering her lover, the man in the first chapter, and is up for the death penalty. Her case is dismissed because the man turned up alive. Then he dies and she is indicted again. In addition a government agency with black suvs and contract killers has made the first chapter incident "disappear" and one of the Supremes and another powerful lawyer want to keep it disappeared. There is an attempt on the life of another of the Supremes. Eventually everything ties together and some disposition is seen of all of the characters except for one real bad guy assassin who is in the wind.

Read it on the airplane or while waiting to see your doctor, dentist, lawyer, etc..
4 internautes sur 4 ont trouvé ce commentaire utile 
Good for a few hours of escape... 5 juin 2010
Par Thomas Duff - Publié sur Amazon.com
Format: Relié Commentaire client Vine pour produit gratuit ( De quoi s'agit-il? )
Via the Amazon Vine review program, I was able to get an advanced reader copy of Phillip Margolin's latest novel, Supreme Justice: A Novel of Suspense. Overall, this is an enjoyable read, good for a few hours of suspense and escape. It didn't grab me quite as hard as many of his earlier works, and that might be due to the length of time since I read the last Margolin novel. He carries over a number of the characters, and I was hazy on the backstories. Even so, I enjoyed the read and the character issue wasn't that big of a deal.

There are a number of plots and subplots going on in Supreme Justice that all merge and get tied together at the end. There's a ghost ship docked in a small Oregon town that mysteriously disappears courtesy of the US government when local police try to investigate a mass killing on board. Apparently only a single person survived the killings, and now he's also been murdered. A Supreme Court Justice is lobbied hard to reject a plea to reopen the case where Sarah Woodruff was convicted of his murder, but her refusal to roll over leads to an attempt on her life. A surprise resignation on the bench leaves an opening that a former head of the CIA wants to have filled with a hand-picked (and likely in-his-pocket) choice. It seems as if everyone wants to keep Sarah Woodruff on death row for fear of what a new trial might bring to light...

My haziness on the main characters made the motivations somewhat hard to follow. As such, I had to just go with the story and let it unfold without trying to analyze why certain things might be happening. There were some decent twists at the end, and you had to re-examine a lot of what had come before based on what new information came to light. Supreme Justice was a nice way to spend a few hours without feeling like I had to keep reading to find out what happened next...

Disclosure:
Obtained From: Amazon Vine Review Program
Payment: Free
15 internautes sur 20 ont trouvé ce commentaire utile 
4 1/2 Stars for Supreme Justice 1 mai 2010
Par Konrad Kern - Publié sur Amazon.com
Format: Relié Commentaire client Vine pour produit gratuit ( De quoi s'agit-il? )
Attorney and Justice clerk Brad Miller, FBI agent Keith Evans and private investigator Dana Cutler try to untangle an older case that would help death row inmate Sarah Woodruff, who was convicted for murdering her lover, John Finley. The case involves a ghost ship, supreme justices, the CIA and a few other entities.
Picking up where Executive Privilege left off, Phillip Margolin brings back a couple characters and adds a few more interesting ones. This author never disappoints me and always seems to get better with each novel. The intricate plotting and the rapid pace makes for a couple evenings of great reading.
Ces commentaires ont-ils été utiles ? Dites-le-nous


Commentaires

Souhaitez-vous compléter ou améliorer les informations sur ce produit ? Ou faire modifier les images?