Livraison gratuite en 1 jour ouvré avec Amazon Premium
Commencez à lire Sword of Empire: Praetorian (English Edition) sur votre Kindle dans moins d'une minute. Vous n'avez pas encore de Kindle ? Achetez-le ici Ou commencez à lire dès maintenant avec l'une de nos applications de lecture Kindle gratuites.
OU
Lire gratuitement
avec Kindle Unlimited

Envoyer sur votre Kindle ou un autre appareil

 
 
 

Essai gratuit

Découvrez gratuitement un extrait de ce titre

Envoyer sur votre Kindle ou un autre appareil

Sword of Empire: Praetorian (English Edition)
 
Agrandissez cette image
 

Sword of Empire: Praetorian (English Edition) [Format Kindle]

Richard Foreman

Prix éditeur - format imprimé : EUR 6,32
Prix Kindle : EUR 0,89 TTC & envoi gratuit via réseau sans fil par Amazon Whispernet
Économisez : EUR 5,43 (86%)
 
Kindle Unlimited Lisez ce titre pour 0,00¤ et obtenez un accès illimité à plus de 700 000 titres, dont plus de 20 000 en français. En savoir plus

  • inclut la livraison sans fil gratuite par Amazon Whispernet
App de lecture Kindle gratuite Tout le monde peut lire les livres Kindle, même sans un appareil Kindle, grâce à l'appli Kindle GRATUITE pour les smartphones, les tablettes et les ordinateurs.

Pour obtenir l'appli gratuite, saisissez votre adresse e-mail ou numéro de téléphone mobile.

Formats

Prix Amazon Neuf à partir de Occasion à partir de
Format Kindle EUR 0,89  
Broché EUR 6,32  
Kindle Unlimited
Retrouvez ce titre dans Kindle Unlimited
Accédez en illimité à plus de 700 000 titres, dont plus de 20 000 en français, sur tous vos appareils pour seulement 9,99€ par mois. Cliquez ici.




Du 1er au 18 décembre, Amazon verse 1€ à l’association Les Nez Rouges pour tout achat d’un chèque-cadeau de 40€ avec le code "NEZROUGES" afin d'offrir des cadeaux de Noël aux enfants hospitalisés.


Les clients ayant acheté cet article ont également acheté


Descriptions du produit

Présentation de l'éditeur

171AD.

Rome is at war with the northern tribes - and is yet to win a significant battle.
The Germanic armies have crossed the Danube and have attacked the Empire, slaughtering thousands.

The Emperor, Marcus Aurelius, is losing the support of the people and the Senate.
Yet he has formed a plan he believes will change the balance of power in the region.

Aurelius has despatched an officer in the Praetorian Guard, the centurion Gaius Maximus, to escort the son and daughter of a powerful German tribal chief back to their village through enemy territory - in hope of arranging an alliance with Rome.

But Maximus, to complete his mission, must contest with enemies at home, as well as abroad.

One man will change the fate of an Empire, or die trying.

From the backstreets of Rome, to the forests of Germany, and onto the Battle of Pannonia, Sword of Empire: Praetorian is the first book in a new series from the bestselling author of the novel Augustus: Son of Rome - and the Sword of Rome collection of novellas about the campaigns of Julius Caesar.

For fans of Simon Scarrow, Ben Kane and Conn Iggulden.

Richard Foreman's books have been widely praised.

Praise for 'Augustus: Son of Rome'.

'Augustus: Son of Rome forges action and adventure with politics and philosophy. This superb story is drenched in both blood and wisdom - and puts Foreman on the map as the coming man of historical fiction'. - Saul David, Author of the Zulu Hart series.

Praise for Raffles: The Complete Innings.

“Classy, humorous and surprisingly touching tales of cricket, friendship and crime.” - David Blackburn, The Spectator.

Richard Foreman is the author of numerous best-selling books, including 'Augustus: Son of Rome' and the Raffles series of historical crime novellas. He is also the author of 'Warsaw', a literary novel set during the Second World War. He lives in London.

Endeavour Press is the UK's leading independent publisher of digital books.

Détails sur le produit


Quels sont les autres articles que les clients achètent après avoir regardé cet article?


Commentaires en ligne

Il n'y a pas encore de commentaires clients sur Amazon.fr
5 étoiles
4 étoiles
3 étoiles
2 étoiles
1 étoiles
Commentaires client les plus utiles sur Amazon.com (beta)
Amazon.com: 4.2 étoiles sur 5  9 commentaires
5 internautes sur 5 ont trouvé ce commentaire utile 
4.0 étoiles sur 5 A great read. 16 mars 2014
Par Dennis D. Mcdonald - Publié sur Amazon.com
Format:Format Kindle
This book popped up in my "recommended" list on Amazon and, eager for respite from more serious fare, I downloaded it.

I found it immensely enjoyable. I've always been partial to sword-and-sandal movies, plus I studied Latin for four years in high school. As I've grown older my understanding of the brutal realities of those ancient days has grown, even as my appreciation of the realities of government and politics has also matured.

The elements of the story will be familiar to many readers:

- The strong, silent hero nursing memories of a painful loss.
- Political skulduggery and backstabbing.
- The secret mission.
- Nick of time rescues.
- War in a distant land.
- The eager youngster.
- The final battle where not everything is resolved.
- A liberal sprinkling of things to be addressed in future series installments.

Along the way we have flaming arrows, the slitting of throats, early Christianity, and the presence of the fabled physician Galen (whom I pictured as being played by David Hyde Pierce).

I found very enjoyable both the characters and the author's language.

The characters are recognizable and clearly drawn. I found it very easy to picture and get to know them. The writing is clear, direct, and replete with realistic imagery and flashes of humor. The author efficiently and skillfully metes out backstory throughout the novel. Also fun: occasional use of arcane terms like "scutum" which brought back some high school memories.

I look forward to the next in the series, SWORD OF EMPIRE: CENTURION.
6 internautes sur 7 ont trouvé ce commentaire utile 
4.0 étoiles sur 5 Great start to his second series 21 janvier 2014
Par Marta abromaityte - Publié sur Amazon.com
Format:Format Kindle
I bought the Complete Campaigns which contained all the Sword of Rome series to save on money rather than buying each story and really enjoyed them. Again, whilst I prefer slightly longer works of fiction, hence why I enjoyed the omnibus, I thought this was a great introduction to the series. The writer has grown a lot as a writer. Some of the same humour features again, but less so than the previous books. A great read.
2 internautes sur 2 ont trouvé ce commentaire utile 
5.0 étoiles sur 5 Great Book 30 janvier 2014
Par Amazon Customer - Publié sur Amazon.com
Format:Format Kindle|Achat vérifié
Richard Foreman is a great storyteller, the story is sat in a historic context, and his characters are very real, . I'm waiting for the next book :-)
5.0 étoiles sur 5 An Enjoyable Read 23 septembre 2014
Par Peter Hibbert - Publié sur Amazon.com
Format:Format Kindle|Achat vérifié
While his previous series was good this one is better. For one it deals with a time period that has not been as extensively covered and secondly it is a continuous series of events as opposed to several differing moments in a ten year period. The action sequences are very graphic and the characters are not as stereotyped as those in Sword of Rome.
5.0 étoiles sur 5 Thanks 6 mai 2014
Par Peter W. Bednar - Publié sur Amazon.com
Format:Format Kindle|Achat vérifié
What can I say but thanks for all your books so far. I look forward to receiving word that there's another ready to read. What great characters, locations and story lines.
Ces commentaires ont-ils été utiles ?   Dites-le-nous

Discussions entre clients

Le forum concernant ce produit
Discussion Réponses Message le plus récent
Pas de discussions pour l'instant

Posez des questions, partagez votre opinion, gagnez en compréhension
Démarrer une nouvelle discussion
Thème:
Première publication:
Aller s'identifier
 

Rechercher parmi les discussions des clients
Rechercher dans toutes les discussions Amazon
   


Rechercher des articles similaires par rubrique