undrgrnd Cliquez ici RLit nav-sa-clothing-shoes Cloud Drive Photos FIFA16 cliquez_ici Rentrée scolaire Shop Fire HD 6 Shop Kindle Paperwhite cliquez_ici Jeux Vidéo Bijoux Montres Montres
The Dirty Parts of the Bible -- A Novel (English Edition) et plus d'un million d'autres livres sont disponibles pour le Kindle d'Amazon. En savoir plus
EUR 9,50
  • Tous les prix incluent la TVA.
En stock.
Expédié et vendu par Amazon.
Emballage cadeau disponible.
Quantité :1
The Dirty Parts of the Bi... a été ajouté à votre Panier
Vous l'avez déjà ?
Repliez vers l'arrière Repliez vers l'avant
Ecoutez Lecture en cours... Interrompu   Vous écoutez un extrait de l'édition audio Audible
En savoir plus
Voir les 2 images

The Dirty Parts of the Bible: A Novel (Anglais) Broché – 23 mars 2010


Voir les formats et éditions Masquer les autres formats et éditions
Prix Amazon Neuf à partir de Occasion à partir de
Format Kindle
"Veuillez réessayer"
Broché
"Veuillez réessayer"
EUR 9,50
EUR 9,50 EUR 12,19

Livres anglais et étrangers
Lisez en version originale. Cliquez ici

Offres spéciales et liens associés


Descriptions du produit

Présentation de l'éditeur

A new novel for fans of Water for Elephants, O Brother Where Art Thou?, Mark Twain, and Johnny Cash. PUBLISHER'S WEEKLY says: "While the title suggests a raunchy read, this rich and soulful novel is actually a rather well-done bildungsroman steeped in wanderlust and whimsy that at times recalls The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn, and at others a tamer On the Road. The story begins in 1936 as 19-year-old Tobias is thumbing his way from Remus, Mich., to his uncle's farm in Glen Rose, Tex., to find a hidden bag of money, after his father, a Baptist pastor, drunkenly slams his car into the church and is removed from the parsonage. The author does an excellent job in making well-charted territory (riding the rails; scavenged campfire meals under the stars) seem vibrant and new. Snippets of scripture, Southern spirituals, and folk ballads lend context and flavor to the text. Most impressive are the jangly dialogue and the characters' distinctive voices, which are authentic and earthy but not remotely hoary. When Tobias finally arrives at his uncle's, the surprises that await him are more than enough to keep his--and readers'--interests piqued." Semifinalist for the 2010 Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award.



Détails sur le produit


En savoir plus sur l'auteur

Découvrez des livres, informez-vous sur les écrivains, lisez des blogs d'auteurs et bien plus encore.

Dans ce livre

(En savoir plus)
Parcourir les pages échantillon
Couverture | Copyright | Extrait | Quatrième de couverture
Rechercher dans ce livre:

Commentaires en ligne

Il n'y a pas encore de commentaires clients sur Amazon.fr
5 étoiles
4 étoiles
3 étoiles
2 étoiles
1 étoiles

Commentaires client les plus utiles sur Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: 1.331 commentaires
196 internautes sur 198 ont trouvé ce commentaire utile 
Funny, a Bit Naughty, with Youth and Innocence of a By-Gone Era 19 février 2011
Par BumbleB - Publié sur Amazon.com
Format: Format Kindle Achat vérifié
There's so much to love about Sam Torode's story and writing. I have 75+ plus books on my Kindle that I've _read_ since August, and The Dirty Parts of the Bible is the first one to grab me and take me to another era from page 1. The style of the prose, the imagery, and the guileless thoughts of a young boy of the 30's come across so vividly and takes you away to another place and time. That's what every good story should do, and many of the contemporary fiction books I read don't have much of this quality.

The story made me laugh out loud often in the first chapter of the Kindle sample, and so I had to buy the book right away. I gladly paid $2.99 -- a total no-brainer. The clever interplay of scene, language--and surprisingly scripture and conservative Christian values in a home of a Pastor's son--works beautifully. If you know much about the Bible, this story will strike a chord with you--it's almost like an inside joke. Very clever.

The title has such a hook and sounds like the story itself may be "dirty," but it's not. There's some naughty parts in the story that's the kind of stuff that makes kids laugh in the back of a classroom. The title fits the story and the character of Tobias Henry.

Sam Torode is a book designer, and it's clear that the same level of care and creativity he used for this book's cover and titillating title went into writing this Huckleberry-Finn-for-Adults story of Tobias Henry.
94 internautes sur 96 ont trouvé ce commentaire utile 
A Fun and Thought-provoking Read 17 janvier 2011
Par T. Hartford - Publié sur Amazon.com
Format: Format Kindle Achat vérifié
I simply enjoyed this book. Having grown up Baptist and am now currently a minister in another denomination, many of the questions of morality and Scriptural interpretation that I continue to wrestle with in my line of work, are brought up in this text. And they are brought up through funny yarns, crisp one-liners, and vivid imagery (Sarah shows up for the dance in a dress made red by dying it in wine - a beautifully multilayered image).

I can't wait for the next novel from this guy.
66 internautes sur 70 ont trouvé ce commentaire utile 
Inspiring! 10 novembre 2011
Par Janet E. Wall - Publié sur Amazon.com
Format: Broché Achat vérifié
This is the best book I have read in a long time. It is sometimes laugh-out-loud funny, and other times spiritually inspiring. I loved it so much that I bought copies for my friends, who loved it as much as I did. I highly recommend this book, especially to those who were raised in strict, religious households. The characters are true to life. Many novels with Christian themes depict the characters as unrealistically all good, or all bad. The characters in this work are portrayed as humans really are; a complex mix of strength and weakness, of faith and doubt. This book was a great boost for me when I needed it. I hope reading it brings you as much joy as it did me.
31 internautes sur 31 ont trouvé ce commentaire utile 
Modern Myths 19 octobre 2011
Par K. M. Halbig - Publié sur Amazon.com
Format: Format Kindle Achat vérifié
This book was successful on several levels. The Depression-era tale of a young man seeing a different side of life riding the trains and living with hobos was combined with the realization that truth comes in many forms. Tobias' father viewed the world in black and white and allowed no shades of grey. Truth was found in the Bible and each line was to be taken literally. Craw, on the other hand, saw the many shades of grey and believed that myths lead us to truth in a more subtle way. Stories are not lies but are a way of illustrating concepts to make them more understandable. One character noted that the Bible states the world was created in six days but who is to say that each day was twenty-four hours. Perhaps to God a day was equivalent to a million years earth time.

Others have suggested that the ending was contrived, but I feel it amplifies the entire feeling of the book. Not everything must be taken literally, and we each slay our dragons in our own way.
37 internautes sur 39 ont trouvé ce commentaire utile 
Great start, weak ending. 4 janvier 2012
Par Rachel Spangler - Publié sur Amazon.com
Format: Format Kindle Achat vérifié
This started out so funny and witty and just quirky. I couldn't stifle the giggles at certain parts- it had such great potential... so I'm really not sure what happened in the author's mind toward the end. All of a sudden, it stopped being funny or interesting and got weird. The ending felt rushed and it didn't flow with the rest of the story. It was a real let-down after the first 2/3 or so of the book was such a fun read.
Ces commentaires ont-ils été utiles ? Dites-le-nous


Commentaires

Souhaitez-vous compléter ou améliorer les informations sur ce produit ? Ou faire modifier les images?