Commencez à lire The Queen of the Tearling: Preview Edition e-Book sur votre Kindle dans moins d'une minute. Vous n'avez pas encore de Kindle ? Achetez-le ici Ou commencez à lire dès maintenant avec l'une de nos applications de lecture Kindle gratuites.

Envoyer sur votre Kindle ou un autre appareil

 
 
 
Désolé, cet article n'est pas disponible en
Image non disponible pour la
couleur :
Image non disponible
 

The Queen of the Tearling: Preview Edition e-Book [Format Kindle]

Erika Johansen

Prix Kindle : EUR 0,00 inclut la livraison internationale sans fil gratuite par Amazon Whispernet

App de lecture Kindle gratuite Tout le monde peut lire les livres Kindle, même sans un appareil Kindle, grâce à l'appli Kindle GRATUITE pour les smartphones, les tablettes et les ordinateurs.

Pour obtenir l'appli gratuite, saisissez votre adresse e-mail ou numéro de téléphone mobile.

-40%, -50%, -60%, -70%... Découvrez les Soldes Amazon jusqu'au 4 août 2015 inclus. Profitez-en !





Les clients ayant acheté cet article ont également acheté

Cette fonction d'achat continuera à charger les articles. Pour naviguer hors de ce carrousel, veuillez utiliser votre touche de raccourci d'en-tête pour naviguer vers l'en-tête précédente ou suivante.

Descriptions du produit

Présentation de l'éditeur

An untested young princess must claim her throne, learn to become a queen, and combat a malevolent sorceress in an epic battle between light and darkness in this spectacular debut—the first novel in a trilogy.

Young Kelsea Raleigh was raised in hiding after the death of her mother, Queen Elyssa, far from the intrigues of the royal Keep and in the care of two devoted servants who pledged their lives to protect her. Growing up in a cottage deep in the woods, Kelsea knows little of her kingdom's haunted past . . . or that its fate will soon rest in her hands.

Long ago, Kelsea's forefathers sailed away from a decaying world to establish a new land free of modern technology. Three hundred years later, this feudal society has divided into three fearful nations who pay duties to a fourth: the powerful Mortmesne, ruled by the cunning Red Queen. Now, on Kelsea's nineteenth birthday, the tattered remnants of the Queen's Guard—loyal soldiers who protect the throne—have appeared to escort the princess on a perilous journey to the capital to ascend to her rightful place as the new Queen of the Tearling.

Though born of royal blood and in possession of the Tear sapphire, a jewel of immense power and magic, Kelsea has never felt more uncertain of her ability to rule. But the shocking evil she discovers in the heart of her realm will precipitate an act of immense daring, throwing the entire kingdom into turmoil—and unleashing the Red Queen's vengeance. A cabal of enemies with an array of deadly weapons, from crimson-caped assassins to the darkest blood magic, plots to destroy her. But Kelsea is growing in strength and stealth, her steely resolve earning her loyal allies, including the Queen's Guard, led by the enigmatic Lazarus, and the intriguing outlaw known simply as "the Fetch."

Kelsea's quest to save her kingdom and meet her destiny has only just begun. Riddled with mysteries, betrayals, and treacherous battles, Kelsea's journey is a trial by fire that will either forge a legend . . . or destroy her.


Détails sur le produit

  • Format : Format Kindle
  • Taille du fichier : 712 KB
  • Nombre de pages de l'édition imprimée : 448 pages
  • Editeur : Harper (17 juin 2014)
  • Vendu par : Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
  • Langue : Anglais
  • ASIN: B00KKNKNJ0
  • Synthèse vocale : Activée
  • X-Ray :
  • Word Wise: Non activé
  • Composition améliorée: Non activé
  • Classement des meilleures ventes d'Amazon: n°6.165 des titres gratuits dans la Boutique Kindle (Voir le Top 100 gratuits dans la Boutique Kindle)
  •  Souhaitez-vous faire modifier les images ?


Quels sont les autres articles que les clients achètent après avoir regardé cet article?


Commentaires en ligne

Il n'y a pas encore de commentaires clients sur Amazon.fr
5 étoiles
4 étoiles
3 étoiles
2 étoiles
1 étoiles
Commentaires client les plus utiles sur Amazon.com (beta)
Amazon.com: 4.5 étoiles sur 5  36 commentaires
4 internautes sur 4 ont trouvé ce commentaire utile 
4.0 étoiles sur 5 ERIKA JOHANSEN'S SUPERBLY CRAFTED FANTASY! 17 juin 2014
Par the GreatReads! - Publié sur Amazon.com
Format:Format Kindle|Achat vérifié
The Queen Of The Tearling by Erika Johansen is a superbly crafted young adult fantasy beautifully blended with historical and science fiction full of magic and adventure. In this riveting novel set in the future, Kelsea Raleigh Glynn, heir to the throne of Tearling after her vain and stupid mother was assassinated, is raised by her foster parents Barty and Carlin. For 18 long years she has been hidden from others for her own safety. The country is in chaos. It is on the brink of collapse. The people are starving and desperate. Now, the time has come for her coronation to be the Queen of Tearling.

Leaving her foster parents and escorted by the ragged Queen’s Guards, a cadre of brave knights led by the enigmatic and dedicated Lazarus, who are sworn to protect her, Kelsea begins the perilous journey to the castle. Assassins are prowling as there is a price on her head, and though the Tearling sapphire, a jewel of immense magical power, hangs around her neck, she is eyed with suspicion by Queen’s Guards themselves but eventually won over them.

The task ahead for Kelsea is a daunting one. She lays claim to a kingdom of which she knows nothing about. The people are unforgiving and she must undo the misdeeds of her mother and earn the loyalty of her people. And she has to steer the country on the right path and root out evil forces that are threatening to destroy the very fabric of Tearling.

The Queen Of The Tearling by Erika Johansen is fascinating and a thrilling read. It is full of memorable characters, both likeable and detestable. Author Erika Johansen has done a commendable job in writing an entertaining story which is truly original.
2 internautes sur 2 ont trouvé ce commentaire utile 
5.0 étoiles sur 5 Love it! 21 juin 2014
Par Sonrisa - Publié sur Amazon.com
Format:Format Kindle|Achat vérifié
I loved the preview. Even in just a few pages I felt the author gripped my attention. I can't wait for the book to come out and have it on pre-order.
5.0 étoiles sur 5 I have not read a book this amazing in a long time 17 mai 2015
Par Ana @ Owl Always Be Reading - Publié sur Amazon.com
Format:Format Kindle
BLOG: http://www.owlalwaysbereading.com/2015/05/book-review-queen-of-tearling-by-erika.html

Epic. That is the exact word to describe how I feel about this book. Epic. I have not read a book this amazing in a long time. Not only is the hardcover edition of the book physically gorgeous, with its beautiful end pages, built in red satin ribbon bookmark, and deckled pages, but it is also gorgeously written.

I typically do not enjoy reading books that are written in the third person. The book has to be exceedingly well written for me to continue reading it once I find out it's written from this perspective. I can find it very difficult to connect with characters when a book is written in third person. I did not have that problem with this book. Erika Johansen is an insanely talented writer. From the first page, I was completely drawn into the world she created, and I connected completely with Kelsea.

I love that Kelsea is such a strong female lead, right from the beginning. Through her inner monologue we know that she questions herself and her ability to be queen, but she never lets her fears or doubts show. She is quick to stand up for herself, and is always trying to find ways to win the respect of those she knows will help her on her journey.

Kelsea has been hidden away her whole life and now, at 19, she must return to her kingdom to save her people from her uncle, the Regent, and the Red Queen. She finds this task exceedingly difficult because there are so many things that have been kept secret from her. None of the people who have been charged to keep Kelsea safe will tell her what she feels she needs to know. She often asks how she is to be an effective ruler if she does not have all the facts, if she cannot make decisions based on the history of her mother's reign.

I really enjoyed the storytelling from multiple viewpoints. I felt that it really added to my understanding of all the major characters. I was able to glimpse these characters through others eyes, gaining insight into the character’s personalities that I would not have had if this book was only told through one point of view.

So many mysteries. Why did Kelsea need to be hidden away? What happened to her mother the queen? What's up with sapphires she was entrusted with? Why won't anyone tell her about anything that has happened since her mother's death? Who is her father? Who is the Red Queen and where did she come from? How will Kelsea lead her kingdom? How will she defeat the Red Queen? Will there be war over the actions Kelsea takes to fix the atrocities that have been allowed to happen in her kingdom? And so many more! Erika Johansen did an amazing job of revealing just enough at just the right time, leaving me salivating for more. At the end of the book, though many mysteries have been revealed, not all have, and new ones abound.

Though Kelsea is definitely my favorite character, I also thoroughly enjoyed several other characters. From the moment I met The Fetch, I was completely in love with him. I cannot wait to see how his story continues to unfold and how his relationship with Kelsea will play out. I also completely adored the relationship between Mace/Lazarus and Kelsea. Kelsea would not be as successful as she is if she did not have him by her side. Together the create an amazingly powerful unit. Pen is also utterly adorable.

I cannot wait until the sequel, The Invasion of the Tearling, comes out on June 9, 2015!

~ Vanessa
5.0 étoiles sur 5 She must do her best to reach the throne and right the wrongs of ... 19 avril 2015
Par Cayt Landis - Publié sur Amazon.com
Format:Format Kindle
The Queen of the Tearling by Erika Johansen is a unique fantasy novel that follow Kelsea Raleigh as she takes the throne. Kelsea had been sent into hiding as an infant to protect her life and has lived in near isolation for nearly twenty years. Now it is time for her to reclaim the throne. Unfortunately for Kelsea, there is a price on her head and danger from all angles. Not to mention that she is only 19 years old and very sheltered. She must do her best to reach the throne and right the wrongs of her kingdom. I loved The Queen of the Tearling. It was an epic book that held my interest the entire way through. I love Kelsea as a character and the world-building was fantastic. All of the minor characters held my interest and the plot, though not fast moving, touched me greatly.

Firstly, let’s talk about Kelsea Raleigh. She is a very plain looking and naive girl who was raised in cottage, far from society, by an elderly couple. The truths about her kingdom and her family were kept from her and she has only the barest understanding of the politics of her time. She is meant to be queen and she has the moral compass to do it, but she’s not prepared when she first sets out to take the throne. I love Kelsea because she is different than most heroines that I read about. Yes, she’s special and she is the hope for her world, etc, etc., but she is not a bad-ass chick who can dual wield swords and make any man fall in love with her in one glance. She is a plain, plump girl who has a strong will but lacks self confidence. She forces herself to overcome her shortcomings, of which there are a believable amount, and do what is right for her people, even if it is incredibly uncomfortable or dangerous for her. She has flaws and weaknesses. She has trouble fitting into her armor and she doesn’t learn to fight with a sword well at all. She is not physically formidable and she does not have a natural presence that garners respect. Yet she commands the room and takes to the throne with a natural ability. She is one of the most realistic monarch characters I have read outside of historical fiction and history books.

The world of Tearling, and surrounding countries, is fascinating. The book presumably takes place sometime in our future after a great disaster has struck society. Europe is no longer a viable home and humanity has moved over to North America in the Great Crossing. Most technology has been lost, including medicine and the printing press. Books are nearly impossible to find and society is just beginning to redevelop past technologies. Gun powder, for instance, has not be rediscovered or reinvented in Tearling. There are references to our time throughout the book, with the mention of electronic books, the seven tombs of Rowling and The Hobbit, which I found entertaining and set the scene very well. I am very interested in learning more about what happened before the Great Crossing and what technologies there might be left to discover or recreate.

The “big bad” in this series is the Red Queen, ruler of Mortmesne, a country on the border of the Tearling. The Red Queen is a tyrant who rules through force and fear. She takes hundreds of human slaves as tribute each month and does who knows what with them. There is an undercurrent of despair running throughout the entire world. The poor, in the Tearling and elsewhere, are barely getting by and are forced to live in a feudal system. The high class folks ignore the poor and dress in finery, shopping the Mortmesne black market for whatever they desire, ignoring the slave trade completely. It is a rather depressing world.

There is also magic in this world. It is not overpowering. There are no wizards or witches running around. Instead, the Tearling is more like a medieval world with some magic thrown in, more like the Game of Thrones world. Kelsea has inherited the necklaces that all the Tearling rulers wear and these necklaces are imbued with some magical power. The antagonist, the Red Queen, also has magic abilities and she uses them to keep her people under a firm yolk. I enjoy that the magic is downplayed and only comes out for extraordinary circumstances. I also enjoy the Kelsea doesn’t understand the powers and is learning about them just as we, the reader, are.

The plot itself is very engaging. I found that the book started off slowly and meandered a bit at the beginning. In general, the book moves at a relatively slow pace for the most part, taking its time introducing the characters, the history of the land, and the development of Kelsea as a ruling monarch. If you want something very fast-paced and action-packed, you might be disappointed. That said, there are seriously tense moments in this book, with chases, fights, etc. There is definitely action to be had.

The Queen of the Tearling is a rather dark book. Though it features a young adult, it is not a teen book. There is graphic language, graphic violence, and hard subjects throughout the book. There are terrible, violent acts and truly saddening topics, such as slavery and abuse. The Tearling is a realistic society, in that there is strife, starvation and unhappiness. Kelsea wishes to improve the lot of her subjects but this book is realistic and serious. It is clearly not going to come up roses and have a full on happy ending. Characters will die, will be betrayed and will worm their way into your heart along the way.

I recommend this book to anyone who likes epic stories and fantasy worlds, even alternate histories. Kelsea is a fantastic female protagonist, so if you’re looking for a book with a strong, realistic female lead, this fits the bill. Just keep in mind that this book is gritty and dark, realistic in its saddest and most poignant parts.

Visit my blog for more reviews! http://www.cayt.com
5.0 étoiles sur 5 Get the full edition, too! 15 août 2014
Par Camp Follower - Publié sur Amazon.com
Format:Format Kindle|Achat vérifié
Classic premise: royal baby raised far away from pomp and circumstance to preserve her life; coming of age jump-started by death of previous ruler; royal teen must earn the trust and loyalty of those around her. That's where the classic stops and the fantastic begins. Books figure heavily in this book, as does education and history, although the latter is only hinted at in this preview. And for once, the heroine is not a petite blonde but a large-scale, awkward, still developing teen who has all the attendant insecurities about her looks and her size. I will definitely be reading the full edition!
Ces commentaires ont-ils été utiles ?   Dites-le-nous

Discussions entre clients

Le forum concernant ce produit
Discussion Réponses Message le plus récent
Pas de discussions pour l'instant

Posez des questions, partagez votre opinion, gagnez en compréhension
Démarrer une nouvelle discussion
Thème:
Première publication:
Aller s'identifier
 

Rechercher parmi les discussions des clients
Rechercher dans toutes les discussions Amazon
   


Rechercher des articles similaires par rubrique