Commencez à lire Torch Song: A Kickass Heroine, A Post-Apocalyptic World:... sur votre Kindle dans moins d'une minute. Vous n'avez pas encore de Kindle ? Achetez-le ici Ou commencez à lire dès maintenant avec l'une de nos applications de lecture Kindle gratuites.
OU
Lire gratuitement
avec Kindle Unlimited

Envoyer sur votre Kindle ou un autre appareil

 
 
 

Essai gratuit

Découvrez gratuitement un extrait de ce titre

Envoyer sur votre Kindle ou un autre appareil

Torch Song: A Kickass Heroine, A Post-Apocalyptic World: Book One Of The Blackjack Trilogy (English Edition)
 
Agrandissez cette image
 

Torch Song: A Kickass Heroine, A Post-Apocalyptic World: Book One Of The Blackjack Trilogy (English Edition) [Format Kindle]

Shelley Singer

Prix éditeur - format imprimé : EUR 23,92
Prix Kindle : EUR 2,50 TTC & envoi gratuit via réseau sans fil par Amazon Whispernet
Économisez : EUR 21,42 (90%)
 
Kindle Unlimited Lisez ce titre pour 0,00¤ et obtenez un accès illimité à plus de 700 000 titres, dont plus de 20 000 en français. En savoir plus

  • inclut la livraison sans fil gratuite par Amazon Whispernet
App de lecture Kindle gratuite Tout le monde peut lire les livres Kindle, même sans un appareil Kindle, grâce à l'appli Kindle GRATUITE pour les smartphones, les tablettes et les ordinateurs.

Pour obtenir l'appli gratuite, saisissez votre adresse e-mail ou numéro de téléphone mobile.

Formats

Prix Amazon Neuf à partir de Occasion à partir de
Format Kindle EUR 2,50  
Relié EUR 24,24  
Kindle Unlimited
Retrouvez ce titre dans Kindle Unlimited
Accédez en illimité à plus de 700 000 titres, dont plus de 20 000 en français, sur tous vos appareils pour seulement 9,99€ par mois. Cliquez ici.



Le Pack de Noël: téléchargez gratuitement plus de 175€ de top applis et jeux avec l'App-Shop Amazon. Offre à durée limitée. En savoir plus.

Il est encore temps pour de faire vos cadeaux de Noël avec les chèques-cadeaux Amazon.fr par email ou à imprimer.



Descriptions du produit

Présentation de l'éditeur

Fans of Lisbeth Salander of The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo and Katniss Everdeen of The Hunger Games will love Rica Marin, a new kickass, gunslinging heroine.

"Fast-paced action and a decisive, strong-minded heroine make this a good choice for fans of the postapocalyptic thrillers." -Library Journal

IT’S 2066. AND YOU CAN'T TRUST ANYBODY…

Rica Marin’s a mercenary—a hired gun, soldier, and spy who answers only to whoever can keep her in the meds she and her only living relative need to survive the plagues that scourge the earth after biological warfare’s wiped out pretty much everything.

It’s a strange world that’s left—composed of tiny city-states like Redwood, Sierra, and Rocky—run with a variety of futuristic machines and broken-down ones. Fancy new cars float as well as roll, but the Internet’s now so glitchy you can't even blog properly—newspapers have come back! So many machines are in disrepair that a fixer in this world isn't someone who rigs elections or cleans up after murders—it’s a person who can repair both an elevator and an ancient toilet. But roving bands of bandits, godders, causies, breeders, khakis, and toxies threaten to destroy what’s just been fixed.

Anywhere there are people—however few—there’ll be power plays, and Rica’s current job at the Blackjack Casino is to run interference between the warring clans of Tahoe, in tiny Sierra. But then the city-state of Rocky gets ambitious. And that means war.

" ...truly one of those books that the reader simply cannot set aside until completion. A story whose pace is akin to the speed of a rocket-launcher missile, Blackjack will grasp any reader by the throat and hang on till the end. What characters! What plotting! ... (Torch Song) will linger in the mind for long after the completion, with the question ringing: Could a near-future like this actually occur?" —Euro-Reviews

WHO WILL LIKE IT: Fans of THE HUNGER GAMES Trilogy, The Millennium Trilogy, and post-apocalyptic thrillers and dystopian fiction. Think LEGEND for adults, or a literary expansion of THE BOOK OF ELI.

"Shelley Singer does an excellent job of describing a bleak future of the US.... Shelley’s world is dark and gritty with complex characters and an intriguing theme." -- Night Owl Reviews

Détails sur le produit

  • Format : Format Kindle
  • Taille du fichier : 3395 KB
  • Nombre de pages de l'édition imprimée : 332 pages
  • Utilisation simultanée de l'appareil : Illimité
  • Editeur : booksBnimble (14 février 2014)
  • Vendu par : Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
  • Langue : Anglais
  • ASIN: B00IGK6UNW
  • Synthèse vocale : Activée
  • X-Ray :
  • Word Wise: Non activé
  •  Souhaitez-vous faire modifier les images ?


En savoir plus sur les auteurs

Découvrez des livres, informez-vous sur les écrivains, lisez des blogs d'auteurs et bien plus encore.

Commentaires en ligne

Il n'y a pas encore de commentaires clients sur Amazon.fr
5 étoiles
4 étoiles
3 étoiles
2 étoiles
1 étoiles
Commentaires client les plus utiles sur Amazon.com (beta)
Amazon.com: 4.2 étoiles sur 5  33 commentaires
5 internautes sur 5 ont trouvé ce commentaire utile 
4.0 étoiles sur 5 Love the Narrator, Love the Story 2 juin 2014
Par Diana M. Corbitt - Publié sur Amazon.com
Format:Format Kindle|Achat vérifié
Shelley Singer’s Torch Song is a fun, futuristic tale filled with action, suspense, and fun. I really enjoyed the protagonist, Rica, a female mercenary. The setting is great too. Shelley does an excellent job of describing a future Tahoe City where Rica had been sent to check out some shady goings on in a world where just a tiny fraction of the population remains. There, she takes a job as a nightclub singer in one of the few casinos still going, hence the title. With all the action, scintillating conversations, and humor, Torch Song kept me interested the whole way through. And what’s better, I’m thinking there’s a sequel.
5 internautes sur 5 ont trouvé ce commentaire utile 
5.0 étoiles sur 5 A Fascinating Story 13 mai 2008
Par Camille V. Cira - Publié sur Amazon.com
Format:Relié|Achat vérifié
It takes place in the year 2066. Our world as we know it has been decimated by terrorists, foreign and home grown, followed up with chemical warfare that has most of the population dead or dying. The story is fascinating in that it covers the gamut -- love, brutality, and politics in a world that is just emerging from catastrophe. Frightenly real.
5 internautes sur 6 ont trouvé ce commentaire utile 
5.0 étoiles sur 5 apocalyptical thriller 2 juillet 2007
Par Harriet Klausner - Publié sur Amazon.com
Format:Relié
The year is 2066 and the earth is barely populated as a consequence of the biological and viral plagues as well as nukes nearly destroyed the planet. Terrorism got completely out of control and nations tried to throw out the undesirables of a jihad that was answered in kind by the western powers. The United States is desolate with shell points of civilization interspersed with fiefdoms, bandits, and despots.

Rica Marin is a mercenary because she and her grandmother need the money for vaccinations and boosters, so they don't catch a fatal disease lingering from the poison years. Right now her assignment is the country of Sierra; hired by Chief Graybie to investigate the Coleman's owners of the blackjack casino in Tahoe. She finds that the Colemans are better than most people she has had to investigate. They want to consolidate and make their power base larger in a peaceful manner. So people can feel safe and technology will grow in a controlled manner. The problem is Rica is working for the wrong side; the Colemans' enemies are the Scorsia who are mafia types and use mob methods to get what they want. Rica has the alloy the Colemans want but are suspicious of her and deal with the Scorsia patriarch so he doesn't get a chance to succeed in his grab for power.

This is quite a different apocalyptical thriller because it leaves the readers with hope. The human race wasn't totally destroyed and they have the numbers to build a base that is anchored in equally and justice for all instead fear instead of prejudice. Rica is a strong willed woman willing to do more work as long as they fall within her moral compass. The Colemans are benevolent rulers with high ideals who want to protect their country by assimilating smaller weaker neighbors. Lee Singer has written a fascinating and enthralling work that focuses on the characters to deliver a cautionary message.

Harriet Klausner
5 internautes sur 6 ont trouvé ce commentaire utile 
3.0 étoiles sur 5 "Kickass Heroine" Needs Big Girl Panties 7 août 2014
Par Crazy in Mississippi - Publié sur Amazon.com
Format:Format Kindle|Achat vérifié
The words "Kickass Heroine" (which were the MAIN reason that I chose to read the book) are FAR from how I would describe the main character, who isn't all that "kickass", and spends a good deal of her time pining for a former lover. I kept thinking that she should put on her big girl panties and move on.. but whatever..

I found the reviews for this book to be a bit confusing. As a matter of fact, I CAME BACK to look at them more than once just to be sure that I hadn't read the reviews for the wrong book. Words like "thriller", and "page-turner", and phrases like "couldn't put it down" are used to describe THIS book? I put this book down SEVERAL times with the intention of finding something more interesting to read, simply because it seemed so very slow. In the end, I decided to finish it, just in case it turned out to be better than it seemed. It didn't.

I teetered between thinking that this book was OK, and outright disliking it. If you could give half stars, it would get 2.5 stars. Right or wrong, it gets a little bit of credit for having been free. So, having to choose, I grudgingly decided to rate it as "OK". If I had it to do over, I'd pass on this one. And I certainly have no desire to read the sequels.
2 internautes sur 2 ont trouvé ce commentaire utile 
5.0 étoiles sur 5 A Mind-Blowing Ride! 2 mai 2014
Par Peggy Dougherty - Publié sur Amazon.com
Format:Format Kindle
TORCH SONG is a mind-blowing ride that holds you in its grasp from start to finish. Singer creates a futuristic realm, both fascinating and frightening. Rica, the protagonist, takes the reader into this world, and this reader felt lucky to have her as a guide.
She is gritty, confident, and competent. She's a mercenary hired to sort things out among warring factions. And it's all about the meds. Meds that everyone wants and needs after plague and other disease and pestilence have lain waste to humanity.

Rica knows her way around, and, fortunately for her, she's a pretty good judge of character. She figures out whom to trust and whom to bust. Not only that, she sings! Sensual, torchy ballads that make listeners wistfully remember simpler times.

There's nonstop action and complex relationships. As the story draws to its close, conflicts get resolved, but new ones rear their heads. Rica's life is taking a turn on several levels, making the reader wonder what lies ahead for her. We'll all have to patiently wait for Book Two.
Ces commentaires ont-ils été utiles ?   Dites-le-nous

Discussions entre clients

Le forum concernant ce produit
Discussion Réponses Message le plus récent
Pas de discussions pour l'instant

Posez des questions, partagez votre opinion, gagnez en compréhension
Démarrer une nouvelle discussion
Thème:
Première publication:
Aller s'identifier
 

Rechercher parmi les discussions des clients
Rechercher dans toutes les discussions Amazon
   


Rechercher des articles similaires par rubrique