Commencez à lire Tower of the Hand: A Flight of Sorrows (English Edition) sur votre Kindle dans moins d'une minute. Vous n'avez pas encore de Kindle ? Achetez-le ici Ou commencez à lire dès maintenant avec l'une de nos applications de lecture Kindle gratuites.

Envoyer sur votre Kindle ou un autre appareil

 
 
 

Essai gratuit

Découvrez gratuitement un extrait de ce titre

Envoyer sur votre Kindle ou un autre appareil

Désolé, cet article n'est pas disponible en
Image non disponible pour la
couleur :
Image non disponible
 

Tower of the Hand: A Flight of Sorrows (English Edition) [Format Kindle]

Marc N. Kleinhenz , Stefan Sasse , Miles Schneiderman , Alexander Smith , Amin Javadi , John Jasmin , Douglas Cohen , Mimi Hoshut

Prix Kindle : EUR 3,89 TTC & envoi gratuit via réseau sans fil par Amazon Whispernet

App de lecture Kindle gratuite Tout le monde peut lire les livres Kindle, même sans un appareil Kindle, grâce à l'appli Kindle GRATUITE pour les smartphones, les tablettes et les ordinateurs.

Pour obtenir l'appli gratuite, saisissez votre adresse e-mail ou numéro de téléphone mobile.

Formats

Prix Amazon Neuf à partir de Occasion à partir de
Format Kindle EUR 3,89  
Broché --  





Descriptions du produit

Présentation de l'éditeur

For the past seven years, we at ToweroftheHand.com have prided ourselves on being a premiere source of A Song of Ice and Fire analysis, information, and speculation. There has been nearly a metric ton of essays, forum posts, and encyclopedia entries logged at the site to date, all designed to give the hardest of the core fan the most rewarding experience possible while reading George R.R. Martin's seminal novels.

And now we’re taking all those years of mastery and applying them to an ebook.

Tower of the Hand: A Flight of Sorrows takes five of the site's most prolific authors - including its two founders - and draws out their best, most in-depth work yet. Unlike other Ice and Fire compendiums, the focus of these essays is on the narrative, character, and thematic elements of the story itself, as opposed to the literary aspects surrounding the books.

Even better, the TOTH editors are joined by some of their good friends, who just so happen to be leading voices in the Game of Thrones community: A Podcast of Ice and Fire co-hosts Amin Javadi and Mimi Hoshut, WinterIsComing.net founder Phil Bicking, and A Feast of Ice and Fire co-author Chelsea Monroe-Cassel.

Altogether, the book’s eight authors (and two special guests) cover a wide gamut of subjects and perspectives, from the most obvious to the most subtle, challenging readers to look at the novels they love so much in entirely new - and more enriching - ways.

Biographie de l'auteur

Marc N. Kleinhenz has written for 21 sites, including IGN, The Escapist, Gamasutra, Comic Related, Westeros.org, and Tower of the Hand. He co-created and co-hosted the Airship Travelogues podcast for its first year at Nintendojo, and his creative writing has been published by Alterna Comics, MicroHorror.com, Death Head Grin, and "Asylum Ink," "Cuento," and "Smashed Cat" magazines. His day jobs have ranged from everything from an intrepid GameStop employee to a gaijin English teacher in Japan to a mild-mannered medical supplies representative.

Détails sur le produit

  • Format : Format Kindle
  • Taille du fichier : 516 KB
  • Nombre de pages de l'édition imprimée : 256 pages
  • Utilisation simultanée de l'appareil : Illimité
  • Editeur : Blue Buddha Press; Édition : 2nd (5 octobre 2013)
  • Vendu par : Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
  • Langue : Anglais
  • ASIN: B009PN36F4
  • Synthèse vocale : Activée
  • X-Ray :
  • Word Wise: Non activé
  • Classement des meilleures ventes d'Amazon: n°171.983 dans la Boutique Kindle (Voir le Top 100 dans la Boutique Kindle)
  •  Souhaitez-vous faire modifier les images ?


En savoir plus sur l'auteur

Découvrez des livres, informez-vous sur les écrivains, lisez des blogs d'auteurs et bien plus encore.

Commentaires en ligne

Il n'y a pas encore de commentaires clients sur Amazon.fr
5 étoiles
4 étoiles
3 étoiles
2 étoiles
1 étoiles
Commentaires client les plus utiles sur Amazon.com (beta)
Amazon.com: 4.2 étoiles sur 5  41 commentaires
15 internautes sur 16 ont trouvé ce commentaire utile 
5.0 étoiles sur 5 The Tower of the Hand: Making the wait for The Winds of Winter more bearable 18 octobre 2012
Par NickSnow - Publié sur Amazon.com
Format:Format Kindle|Achat vérifié
Recently, Vulture Magazine wrote an article rating the top 25 most devoted fandoms. At the top of the list were, to no surprise, the fans of George R.R. Martin's glorious and epic saga: "A Song of Ice and Fire". Us fans, knowing that the next novel, "The Winds of Winter", could be coming out in years, salivate at any new development in the community. "Tower of the Hand: A Flight of Sorrows" is a sure way to satisfy the hunger of ASOIAF fans.

The Tower of the Hand, along with westeros.org, The Podcast of Ice and Fire, Not a Blog, and the Boiled Leather Audio Hour, is an amazing spot for ASOIAF fans. For years, the contributors have been writing family trees, chapter summaries, theories, and essays for us dedicated fans. Now, with the release of their first essay collection, "Tower of the Hand: A flight of Sorrows", they once again ignite the passion and imagination for the thousands of fans.

The collection contains 8 essays from prolific figureheads of the ASOIAF community, including Podcast of Ice and Fire hosts Amim Javadi and Mimi Hoshut, Stefan Sasse from Boiled Leather, and Alex and Johnny from the Tower of the Hand itself. Essay topics range from the implications of Aegon VI Targaryen to top players in the game of thrones to the parallels between the Dunk and Egg novellas and the series proper. And unlike many other essay collections, which discuss topics associated with the series (like the concepts of truth and honor), this one looks at the actual events in the books and tries to make sense of it all.

It is a highly engaging read for someone like me and other truly devoted fans, however, I could imagine more casual fans having some trouble understanding some of the things discussed. For example, the details of the Blackfyre Rebellion or the Azor Ahai prophecy often go missed by a casual reader; they could have a hard time grasping some of the theories mentioned in this book without the more advanced understanding. That in mind, this is a book for the most intense fans.

With no end in sight for the completion of "The Winds of Winter", "Tower of the Hand: A Flight of Sorrows" is a great way to make the wait bearable. During my read, I began to re-evaluate my previous assumptions and theories, as well as looking at things I had not considered. It was interesting, exciting, and fun, for it brings us one step closer to finally solving the gargantuan jigsaw puzzle that is "A Song of Ice and Fire."
6 internautes sur 7 ont trouvé ce commentaire utile 
4.0 étoiles sur 5 Methadone 5 décembre 2012
Par Anand Bhardwaj - Publié sur Amazon.com
Format:Format Kindle|Achat vérifié
That's what this is. Methadone, because Heroin takes 4-6 years per.. er.. book, to produce.

Interesting essays, I quite enjoyed them. It's chock a block with spoilers for book 1 thru 5, but then again, if you hadn't already read all the canon books, its unlikely that you're buying this one.

If you are a regular (or even occasional) reader of the tower of the hand, winter is coming, and any other ASOIAF fansites, you've probably heard some version of the discussions in this book before. Even so, the arguments are well organized, and the writing style of the various contributors is clean and crisp and pretty readable. In all its a good synthesis of a lot of the fan analysis and speculation out there.

Word of warning, if you're a TV show watcher and haven't read the books, do not confuse this book with another, released around the same time as this one, where the show is discussed. (Inside HBO's Game of Thrones, by Brian Cogman). A flight of Sorrows will spoil the living daylights out of a TV-only GRRM-head.
3 internautes sur 3 ont trouvé ce commentaire utile 
3.0 étoiles sur 5 A Good Companion Piece for the ASoIAF series. 7 novembre 2012
Par John Wao - Publié sur Amazon.com
Format:Format Kindle|Achat vérifié
The is book contains a series of essays that delve into conspiracy theories, characters, and plot lines that make George RR Martin's A Song of Ice and Fire books so popular. If you finished all the books and need an Ice and Fire fix then pick this up.
3 internautes sur 3 ont trouvé ce commentaire utile 
4.0 étoiles sur 5 Fun read for a long time fan 15 octobre 2012
Par 897 - Publié sur Amazon.com
Format:Format Kindle|Achat vérifié
GRRM's fantasy world is deep and requires some thought to fully appreciate. These essays delve into the the history of the world and characters from folks at all ends of the fandom. As a Podcast of Ice and Fire listener I really loved Mimi's and Amin's essays and the rest were just as fun to read!
1 internautes sur 1 ont trouvé ce commentaire utile 
5.0 étoiles sur 5 Fantastic Essays! 27 novembre 2013
Par David W. Southworth - Publié sur Amazon.com
Format:Format Kindle|Achat vérifié
This collection of essays in e-book format is for fans of George RR Martin’s “A Song of Ice and Fire” series. Many of the authors are big names in the roster of online discussion boards, blogs, and podcasts. It is most enjoyable because, unlike other ASOIAF themed books it covers actual issues in the series rather than more “meta” issues, such as the treatment of women or religion. And most of the arguments are compelling and insightful. Perhaps worst/best of all, they make the reader want the next book in the series published sooner rather than later in order to find out if many of the assessments in the “Flight” turn out to be correct.
Ces commentaires ont-ils été utiles ?   Dites-le-nous

Discussions entre clients

Le forum concernant ce produit
Discussion Réponses Message le plus récent
Pas de discussions pour l'instant

Posez des questions, partagez votre opinion, gagnez en compréhension
Démarrer une nouvelle discussion
Thème:
Première publication:
Aller s'identifier
 

Rechercher parmi les discussions des clients
Rechercher dans toutes les discussions Amazon
   


Rechercher des articles similaires par rubrique