Actuellement indisponible.
Nous ne savons pas quand cet article sera de nouveau approvisionné ni s'il le sera.
Vous l'avez déjà ? Vendez sur Amazon


Boutique Vinyle
Retrouvez toute notre sélection de Vinyles au sein de notre boutique Vinyle.

Offres spéciales et liens associés

Page Artiste The Church

Détails sur le produit

  • Album vinyle
  • Label: ARISTA
  • Autres éditions : CD  |  Cassette  |  Album vinyle
  • Moyenne des commentaires client : Soyez la première personne à écrire un commentaire sur cet article
  •  Voulez-vous mettre à jour des informations sur le produit, faire un commentaire sur des images ou nous signaler un prix inférieur?

Commentaires en ligne

Il n'y a pas encore de commentaires clients sur
5 étoiles
4 étoiles
3 étoiles
2 étoiles
1 étoile

Commentaires client les plus utiles sur (beta) 3.9 étoiles sur 5 28 commentaires
7 internautes sur 7 ont trouvé ce commentaire utile 
4.0 étoiles sur 5 Two disc deluxe edition of band's classic album 4 star album, 3 star transfer 17 mai 2007
Par Wayne Klein - Publié sur
Format: CD
"Under the Milky Way" finally broke The Church to a larger audience in the United States and their follow up album "Gold Afternoon Fix" certainly lives up to the promise of their "breakthrough" album. From the menacing opening notes of "Pharaoh" with its use of feedback and other sound effects to the catchy Metropolis" the album is a winner. This two edition deluxe edition offers a second disc of material that was released on various EPs around the time of this album and acoustic versions of two strong tracks the glorious "Metropolis" and moody album closer "Grind".

The album has been remastered louder than the previous edition. It sounds good when compared to the original release but it seems the dynamic range is squashed a bit. The second disc, though, is worth the price of admission as it features a number of EP sides released to accompany the singles. I do wish that there were song lyrics but I suppose we can't have everything.

The second disc is the only reason to pick this up. The second disc is an album length with the following CD/EP extra tracks all in one spot:
1. Much Too Much
2. Take It Back
3. Desert
4. Forgotten Reign
5. Hunter
6. Dream
7. Ride into the Sunset
8. You Got Off Light
9. The Feast
10. Metropolis (Acoustic)
11. Grind (Acoustic)

The only real reason to get this is the second disc. The original release although not quite as loud sounds pretty good.
5 internautes sur 5 ont trouvé ce commentaire utile 
5.0 étoiles sur 5 An neglected gem 17 mai 2008
Par D. C Morris - Publié sur
Format: CD Achat vérifié
This is one of my favorite CDs by The Church. While not as well-known as Starfish, it has many excellent songs on it, some of which contain considerable beauty as well as catchy energy, as is characteristic for this fine band. I measure how good a CD is by how I feel when I am listening to it. When I listen to the songs on this CD, it always puts me in a good mood. I won't belabor my favorite songs. Each listener will form his own opinion about that, but please do check out this CD. It can be addictive.
4 internautes sur 4 ont trouvé ce commentaire utile 
5.0 étoiles sur 5 The most exciting band that ever existed 10 septembre 2008
Par Thomas Thomsen - Publié sur
Format: CD
The Church is a criminally underrated Australian rock group and is my all-time favorite band. The esoteric and enigmatic Steve Kilbey's cool and captivating vocals, his interesting stream-of-consciousness lyrics, the two exciting guitarists - Marty Willson-Piper, Peter Koppes - and Tim Powles, a drummer with great production skills, make for an all-round class act. Since 1981 they've released one great album after another, and Gold Afternoon Fix is one of their best.
First single Metropolis, with its chiming guitars and melodic pop hook, was my introduction to The Church back in 1990, and the reason I became aware of this wonderful band. I soon bought Gold Afternoon Fix and was mesmerized by its - mostly - melancholic beauty. A few songs such as the aforementioned single and Monday Morning are more... "light-hearted", if you will...but the overall dark atmosphere of Gold Afternoon Fix never becomes depressing. The Church's music contains both darkness and light, just like life itself, and comes off as being very real. The lazy, laid-back melancholia of Disappointment - with Kilbey's sad, detached vocal and the beautifully understated bass and electric/acoustic guitars - is indeed a very special song; not for everybody perhaps, but to me it remains one of my favorite Church songs. As does Grind, which is one of my all-time favorite songs by any artist. Terra Nova Cain and lead-off track Pharoah are some of the most atmospheric rock songs I have ever heard and represent everything I absolutely adore about the Church - the Essence of their sound. Pharoah is stunning, and my all-time favorite Church song.

To me Gold Afternoon Fix is a masterpiece and as good as music gets.
4 internautes sur 4 ont trouvé ce commentaire utile 
4.0 étoiles sur 5 Another Haunting Masterpiece 22 juillet 1998
Par lori - Publié sur
Format: CD
With "Gold Afternoon Fix," The Church has created another haunting masterpiece to add to their already impressive archive. Their unique sound is unparalleled in relaying an almost bewitching combination of music and meaning, from the more upbeat, driving "You're Still Beautiful, Baby" to the melancholy, wistful "Disappointment." Even though only one song remotely approached widespread airplay ("Metropolis"), this album is definitely worth checking out. All thirteen tracks will hold you captive in their spell, and if you haven't checked out The Church before, this is a great catalyst for making you seek out other albums for your collection.
3 internautes sur 3 ont trouvé ce commentaire utile 
3.0 étoiles sur 5 Not As Bad as it Sounds 14 août 2000
Par Vince Cabrera - Publié sur
Format: CD
The main problem with this record is that nothing really stands out as a Great track (NB the capital "G"). There's a few stabs at "story" songs ("Terra Nova Cain"). There's a bit of wistfulness here and there ("Metropolis"). Steve Kilbey has a shot at some sort of iffy "La Dolce Vita" trip in "You're Still Beautiful" and there's a sort of veiled "Oh, 'tis HARD to be a rockstar!" whatsis ("Pharaoh"... though that might simply be my own cynical perception) There's even a somewhat rash and ill-advised shot at (oh, dear...) actual rock ("Russian Autumn Heart").
None of it actually grabs you at first, (I had an ugly "is that IT?" feeling as the thought dawned on me that the record store was by now closed) but, no doubt as intended, this record DOES kind of grow on you in a slow, unassuming way. It's all fairly tranquil, pastelly stuff where everything even Regret is artful and contrived. But that's The Church and you probably knew that anyway.
It's not a GREAT record, but it's a pretty good one.
Ces commentaires ont-ils été utiles ? Dites-le-nous

Discussions entre clients

Rechercher des articles similaires par rubrique


Souhaitez-vous compléter ou améliorer les informations sur ce produit ? Ou faire modifier les images?