Aucun appareil Kindle n'est requis. Téléchargez l'une des applis Kindle gratuites et commencez à lire les livres Kindle sur votre smartphone, tablette ou ordinateur.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

Pour obtenir l'appli gratuite, saisissez votre numéro de téléphone mobile.

Prix Kindle : EUR 2,99

Économisez
EUR 13,40 (82%)

TVA incluse
logo kindle unlimited
Empruntez ce titre et accédez à plus d'un million d'ebooks. 14 jours d'essai gratuit. En savoir plus
Emprunter
OU

Ces promotions seront appliquées à cet article :

Certaines promotions sont cumulables avec d'autres offres promotionnelles, d'autres non. Pour en savoir plus, veuillez vous référer aux conditions générales de ces promotions.

Envoyer sur votre Kindle ou un autre appareil

Envoyer sur votre Kindle ou un autre appareil

Bottomland: A Novel Based on the Murder of Rosa Mary Dean in Franklin, Tennessee (English Edition) par [Holt, Trey]
Publicité sur l'appli Kindle

Bottomland: A Novel Based on the Murder of Rosa Mary Dean in Franklin, Tennessee (English Edition) Format Kindle


Voir les 2 formats et éditions Masquer les autres formats et éditions
Prix Amazon
Neuf à partir de Occasion à partir de
Format Kindle
"Veuillez réessayer"
EUR 2,99

Longueur : 444 pages Word Wise: Activé Composition améliorée: Activé
Page Flip: Activé Langue : Anglais

Description du produit

Présentation de l'éditeur

As featured on Nashville Public Radio -- A new Southern Gothic novel that will appeal to fans of William Faulkner, To Kill a Mockingbird, and Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil.

Based on actual events, Bottomland is the story of the murder of a young woman in Franklin, Tennessee. Set in 1953, it explores the social mores of the town itself and the personalities of all involved, from the townspeople, to the police, to the killers.

Told from the perspective of a 17-year-old high school senior who has just fallen in love for the first time, Bottomland reflects Franklin's evolution from the Civil War through World War II and segregation, while chronicling the narrator's family history and coming of age. The story unfolds over the four day period during which the the body and the perpetrators remain unidentified.

Reviewers say:

"Holt's character-work is first-class, and his clever, authentic-sounding Southern dialogue is full of life and character... Beautiful, evocative descriptive passages drift through the narrative. He also has a great talent for quick, memorable character sketches... As a true-crime buff, I'd never heard of the real-life case this is based on before.... There is surprisingly little [that has been written about the case] beyond Holt's splendid book." --The Reader in the Tower blog

"This remarkable, intricately crafted novel is clearly not for everyone. I can see why after a body is discovered many people would go in mystery mode, but that isn't what this is. Nor is it a book that maintains an easily understood story line; at times I wasn't exactly sure which time period we were in but as it turns out that just contributed to the overall effect. Instead, it is a story from the mind of a teenage boy of great sensitivity, caught between a host of conflicting forces, and emerging from it with a deepened sense of the meaning of life and its tragedies. The characters all arise out of the very Southern soil of Franklin, Tennessee, but for all that they represent a wide spectrum of human experience. The use of his mentally ill uncle to bring reflections on the human conditions is brilliant. As in Faulkner's The Sound and the Fury and Shakespeare's King Lear, the 'fool' is often the one with the deepest insights. We as readers are, to be sure, asked to stay with this story amidst its many complicated tangles, but it is a journey well worth taking. It is the sort of book I'd like to read again, only this time with a group of friends to discuss the journey along the way. I think we would all learn much about ourselves and each other." --Karl Frederickson, Amazon.com reader review

Détails sur le produit

  • Format : Format Kindle
  • Taille du fichier : 1284 KB
  • Nombre de pages de l'édition imprimée : 444 pages
  • Utilisation simultanée de l'appareil : Illimité
  • Vendu par : Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
  • Langue : Anglais
  • ASIN: B00XLN2ELQ
  • Synthèse vocale : Activée
  • X-Ray :
  • Word Wise: Activé
  • Lecteur d’écran : Pris en charge
  • Composition améliorée: Activé
  • Moyenne des commentaires client : Soyez la première personne à écrire un commentaire sur cet article
  • Classement des meilleures ventes d'Amazon: n°729.232 dans la Boutique Kindle (Voir le Top 100 dans la Boutique Kindle)
  • Voulez-vous nous parler de prix plus bas?

click to open popover

Commentaires client

Il n'y a pour l'instant aucun commentaire client.
5 étoiles
0
4 étoiles
0
3 étoiles
0
2 étoiles
0
1 étoile
0
Partagez votre opinion avec les autres clients

Commentaires client les plus utiles sur Amazon.com

Amazon.com: 2,7 sur 5 étoiles 265 commentaires
46 personnes ont trouvé cela utile.
5,0 sur 5 étoilesHighly Recommended
le 12 juillet 2015 - Publié sur Amazon.com
36 personnes ont trouvé cela utile.
5,0 sur 5 étoilesHaunting But Beautiful
le 8 août 2015 - Publié sur Amazon.com
Achat vérifié
12 personnes ont trouvé cela utile.
4,0 sur 5 étoilesA Excellent Read
le 23 juillet 2015 - Publié sur Amazon.com
Achat vérifié
12 personnes ont trouvé cela utile.
4,0 sur 5 étoilesInteresting if a bit confusing
le 1 août 2015 - Publié sur Amazon.com
Achat vérifié
10 personnes ont trouvé cela utile.
5,0 sur 5 étoilesThought provoking and painful. It's a look under the sidewalks of an ...
le 18 juillet 2015 - Publié sur Amazon.com
Achat vérifié

Où en sont vos commandes ?

Livraison et retours

Besoin d'aide ?