Aucun appareil Kindle n'est requis. Téléchargez l'une des applis Kindle gratuites et commencez à lire les livres Kindle sur votre smartphone, tablette ou ordinateur.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

Pour obtenir l'appli gratuite, saisissez votre numéro de téléphone mobile.

Prix Kindle : EUR 1,99

Économisez
EUR 6,10 (75%)

TVA incluse

Ces promotions seront appliquées à cet article :

Certaines promotions sont cumulables avec d'autres offres promotionnelles, d'autres non. Pour en savoir plus, veuillez vous référer aux conditions générales de ces promotions.

Envoyer sur votre Kindle ou un autre appareil

Envoyer sur votre Kindle ou un autre appareil

Galveston (English Edition) par [Pizzolatto, Nic]
Publicité sur l'appli Kindle

Galveston (English Edition) Format Kindle

5.0 étoiles sur 5 1 commentaire client

Voir les 15 formats et éditions Masquer les autres formats et éditions
Prix Amazon
Neuf à partir de Occasion à partir de
Format Kindle
"Veuillez réessayer"
EUR 1,99
Relié
"Veuillez réessayer"
EUR 30,65 EUR 2,00
Broché
"Veuillez réessayer"
EUR 8,09

Longueur : 267 pages Word Wise: Activé Composition améliorée: Activé
Page Flip: Activé Langue : Anglais

Description du produit

Revue de presse

"An often incandescent fever dream of low-rent, unbearable beauty.... Galveston, in its authenticity and fearless humanism, recalls only the finest examples of the form." - New York Times Book Review

Présentation de l'éditeur

From the creator of the hit HBO series True Detective comes a powerful, gleaming-dark thriller rich with Southern atmosphere.

Roy Cady is by his own admission 'a bad man'. With a snow flurry of cancer in his lungs and no one to live for, he's a walking time-bomb of violence. Following a fling with his boss's lover, he's sent on a routine assignment he knows is a death trap. Yet after a smoking spasm of violence, Roy's would-be killers are mostly dead and he is mostly alive.

Before Roy makes his getaway, he finds a beaten-up woman in the apartment, and sees something in her frightened, defiant eyes that causes a crucial decision. He takes her with him on the run from New Orleans to Galveston, Texas, permanently entwining their fate along a highway of seedy bars and fleabag hotels, a world of treacherous drifters, pick-up trucks, and ashed-out hopes, with death just a car-length behind.

Nic Pizzolatto's highly acclaimed, Edgar Award-nominated thriller announces the arrival of a major new talent for fans of Dennis Lehane, James Lee Burke and Breaking Bad.


Détails sur le produit

  • Format : Format Kindle
  • Taille du fichier : 612 KB
  • Nombre de pages de l'édition imprimée : 267 pages
  • Editeur : Sphere (21 novembre 2013)
  • Vendu par : Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
  • Langue : Anglais
  • ASIN: B00GHUHK14
  • Synthèse vocale : Activée
  • X-Ray :
  • Word Wise: Activé
  • Lecteur d’écran : Pris en charge
  • Composition améliorée: Activé
  • Moyenne des commentaires client : 5.0 étoiles sur 5 1 commentaire client
  • Classement des meilleures ventes d'Amazon: n°151.338 dans la Boutique Kindle (Voir le Top 100 dans la Boutique Kindle)
  • Voulez-vous nous parler de prix plus bas?

click to open popover

Commentaires en ligne

5.0 étoiles sur 5
5 étoiles
1
4 étoiles
0
3 étoiles
0
2 étoiles
0
1 étoile
0
Voir le commentaire client
Partagez votre opinion avec les autres clients

Meilleurs commentaires des clients

Format: Format Kindle Achat vérifié
Nic Pizzolatto is the writer of the excellent USA TV series "True Detective". If you like that kind of tension, suspense, you will like this book. If you want to read rich and beautiful prose, you will like this book. As in "TD", there is a story unfolding that is often violent, often sordid, twisting, turning, back and forth in time, leaving the reader insecure, so always gripping.
A very rewarding read on many levels.
Remarque sur ce commentaire 3 personnes ont trouvé cela utile. Avez-vous trouvé ce commentaire utile ? Oui Non Commentaire en cours d'envoi...
Merci pour votre commentaire.
Désolé, nous n'avons pas réussi à enregistrer votre vote. Veuillez réessayer
Signaler un abus

Commentaires client les plus utiles sur Amazon.com (beta) (Peut contenir des commentaires issus du programme Early Reviewer Rewards)

Amazon.com: 4.2 étoiles sur 5 446 commentaires
2 internautes sur 2 ont trouvé ce commentaire utile 
4.0 étoiles sur 5 True Galveston 12 juin 2015
Par Terrence Aybar - Publié sur Amazon.com
Format: Broché Achat vérifié
Nic Pizzolato's "Galveston" reminds me very much of the works of Cormac McCarthy, James Ellroy and his own "True Detective" due to the general noir tone of it. It tells the gritty, sad tale of Roy Cady, a career bagman who finds himself on the wrong end of his employer over trivial matters and winds up on the run with a young girl and her younger sister. Pizzolato's writing is sparse yet detailed enough to say that I actually feel like I know exactly what the actual city of Galveston would be like now that I've read this book. Moments of it read like poetry and although it's a quick read and is over before you know it, it sticks with you long after you've read it. Crime novel enthusiasts would enjoy this book and fans of Pizzolato's wonderful HBO series "True Detective" would definitely find elements in this to love. It's dark and depressing stuff for sure but you can't help but fall in love with everyone you meet in this tragic story and you'll remember them fondly once you've finished reading it. Recommended.
1 internautes sur 1 ont trouvé ce commentaire utile 
3.0 étoiles sur 5 Much like True Detective 19 juillet 2016
Par Meaghan Regan - Publié sur Amazon.com
Format: Broché Achat vérifié
Much like True Detective, this book was initially enthralling and then quickly loses speed and ends on an entirely flat note. It was such a page turner, I could hardly put the book down while reading the first third of the book. Things slowed down in the second third, but it was still written in a way that kept my attention, as I understood he was giving us insight into the development of these characters in a pivotal time in their lives. The final third of the book was extremely dull and often left me feeling like I would get more only to be disappointed when the payoff never came. The ultimate showdown was a matter of 5 - 6 pages in total and did not go into nearly enough detail. Nic Pizzolatto has a tendency of losing steam in the worst places. I truly feel he would be a much better short story writer than a novelist.
4 internautes sur 4 ont trouvé ce commentaire utile 
3.0 étoiles sur 5 True Detective auteur tries his hand at Noir fiction 27 juin 2015
Par Steven Axelrod - Publié sur Amazon.com
Format: Format Kindle Achat vérifié
This novel, by True Detective showrunner Nic Pizzolatto, reveals many of the same qualities -- good and bad -- as his HBO series. Fascinating troubled characters, vivid action sequences, nihilistic philosophy, difficult compromised sexual relationships ... as well as an air of adolescent pretention, pose rather than posture -- and in the writing itself a rather hit-or-miss attempt at neo-Chandler image-making. Some of the metaphors work well ("You could broker your future here. Dump your memories into the white light of the gulf like leaves into a bonfire"). Others, not so much ("The clock's ticking sounded like a woman in heels, walking at a very slow and relentless pace across a marble floor."). On the whole, it's worth reading despite the grim story-line and acute authorial self-awareness. Bu not quite the masterpiece it seems to think it is.
3.0 étoiles sur 5 Noir... 19 juin 2017
Par Mark West - Publié sur Amazon.com
Format: Broché Achat vérifié
It's a first novel from the creator of "True Detective". It's a good noir that provides all the necessary aspects of noir. It just left me wishing for more. No offense to Mr. Pizzolatto, it has hints of a movie treatment. And truthfully, it probably would have made a better movie than novel. Nonetheless I think he is a talented guy with a great future and if you're a completest like me you will want to be read it. The story is a quick read.
2 internautes sur 2 ont trouvé ce commentaire utile 
2.0 étoiles sur 5 Don't bother 1 mars 2016
Par Bill - Publié sur Amazon.com
Format: Broché Achat vérifié
Without giving anything away, there is a mystery the protagonist posses very early on in the story that goes almost totally ignored. Had the writer focused on finding a way to have this mystery drive the plot instead of the "character study/redemption story" he tried to take the reader on, the book might have been worth reading and on par with True Detective. The characters are all boring rehashes of all too familiar genre tropes and could have been much more had the story taken a different turn when it could have.
Ces commentaires ont-ils été utiles ? Dites-le-nous