Actuellement indisponible.
Nous ne savons pas quand cet article sera de nouveau approvisionné ni s'il le sera.
Vous l'avez déjà ? Vendez sur Amazon
Egalement disponible en MP3
Album MP3 à EUR 12,69

Handel: Israel in Egypt (The Sixteen Choir & Orchestra) (US Import) Import

Promotions et bons plans musique CD Vinyle Promotions et bons plans musique CD Vinyle

Offres spéciales et liens associés

Détails sur le produit

  • CD (9 juillet 2003)
  • Nombre de disques: 2
  • Format : Import
  • Label: Regis Records
  • ASIN : B0000AMKB5
  • Autres versions : Téléchargement MP3
  • Moyenne des commentaires client : Soyez la première personne à écrire un commentaire sur cet article
  •  Voulez-vous mettre à jour des informations sur le produit, faire un commentaire sur des images ou nous signaler un prix inférieur?

Commentaires en ligne

Il n'y a pas encore de commentaires clients sur
5 étoiles
4 étoiles
3 étoiles
2 étoiles
1 étoile

Commentaires client les plus utiles sur (beta) HASH(0x9add5150) étoiles sur 5 4 commentaires
5 internautes sur 5 ont trouvé ce commentaire utile 
HASH(0x9a7344ec) étoiles sur 5 An excellent "choral oratorio" by a superb ensemble 11 décembre 2003
Par Aaron Mitchell - Publié sur
Format: CD
The popularity of Handel's "Messiah" has led to a neglect of his other oratorios, many of which are fine works. "Israel in Egypt" and "Messiah" share a position as Handel's only non-dramatic oratorios. That is, there are no characters and the setting is more narrative and contemplative. "Israel in Egypt" occupies a more unique role, in fact, as a "choral oratorio." Unlike his other works in this genre, "Israel" is chock full of choruses, with only a very few recitatives and arias. For choral lovers this provides a plethora of opportunities.
The Sixteen's recording is SUPERB, and very highly recommended, in spite of their no-frills cover. Although technically considered a "non-dramatic" oratorio, it is nonetheless dramatic in the true sense of the word. This drama is captured well in Christophers' recording. For example, in "But the waters overwhelmed their enemies" the heavy, deep percussion swells to become truly "overwhelming" in representation of the sea closing in on the Eyptians.
The recording includes all three movements (as Handel originally performed it, although when it was first published in 1771 it was published as a two-act oratorio, without the first act, perhaps because the first act was wholly recycled--yet beautiful--music from Handel's funeral music for the death of Queen Caroline, now with text altered to represent Israel mourning for their captivity). Two organ concerti are included between the three movements, as was common practice by Handel during his oratorio performances.
1 internautes sur 1 ont trouvé ce commentaire utile 
HASH(0x9a734540) étoiles sur 5 Good but not great. 28 février 2004
Par Un client - Publié sur
Format: CD
Having grown accustomed to J.E. Gardiner's splendid rendition of this work with the Monteverdi Choir and Orchestra on the Erato label, I must disagree with the other reviewer here and weigh in with a lesser rating for Christophers and his ensemble. The tempi are comparatively breakneck at times, and the soloists generally aren't anywhere near the former's qualitative level. Yes, The Sixteen does avoid the common pitfall of taking the final chorus too slowly, but the recording overall fails to match both Gardiner and Parrott's performances in my book. In short, it's good but definitely not great
1 internautes sur 1 ont trouvé ce commentaire utile 
Par Jason M. Carlock - Publié sur
Format: CD
The one thing that sets this apart from the Parrott and Gardiner is the constant energy put out by the ensemble. I would reccomend this recording over all, despite sound balance problems, and sub-par soloists. Fortunately, the Sixteen always sound like they enjoy singing, and make this recording a memorable experience.
0 internautes sur 1 ont trouvé ce commentaire utile 
HASH(0x9a734d44) étoiles sur 5 A Great Performance, at Least 3 janvier 2013
Par J. R. Trtek - Publié sur
I confess I've never been able to cozy up much to Handel's Israel in Egypt, though the chorus "He gave them hailstones..." constitutes two of my most favorite minutes in music. Still, the Taverner Choir and Players under Andrew Parrott make it a pretty thrilling ride. Certainly, this recording is to my tastes the best of the three or four that I've heard. I found the Mallon/Aradia recording on Naxos to be muddy and limp, for example, but here all is sharp, full of force, and clear as a bell. If I really loved the work itself, I'd give it five-stars, but since I view the composition itself as a three-star affair I'm opting for four on the strength of the performance. If you like this oratorio, buy this rendition without fear.
Ces commentaires ont-ils été utiles ? Dites-le-nous

Discussions entre clients

Rechercher des articles similaires par rubrique


Souhaitez-vous compléter ou améliorer les informations sur ce produit ? Ou faire modifier les images?