Aucun appareil Kindle n'est requis. Téléchargez l'une des applis Kindle gratuites et commencez à lire les livres Kindle sur votre smartphone, tablette ou ordinateur.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

Pour obtenir l'appli gratuite, saisissez votre ou numéro de téléphone mobile.

Prix Kindle : EUR 6,76

Économisez
EUR 7,48 (53%)

TVA incluse

Ces promotions seront appliquées à cet article :

Certaines promotions sont cumulables avec d'autres offres promotionnelles, d'autres non. Pour en savoir plus, veuillez vous référer aux conditions générales de ces promotions.

Envoyer sur votre Kindle ou un autre appareil

Envoyer sur votre Kindle ou un autre appareil

Napkin Notes: Make Lunch Meaningful, Life Will Follow par [Callaghan, W. Garth]
Publicité sur l'appli Kindle

Napkin Notes: Make Lunch Meaningful, Life Will Follow Format Kindle


Voir les formats et éditions Masquer les autres formats et éditions
Prix Amazon
Neuf à partir de Occasion à partir de
Format Kindle
"Veuillez réessayer"
EUR 6,76

Concours KDP Salon du Livre


Descriptions du produit

Présentation de l'éditeur

Garth Callaghan doesn’t know how long he has to live. But he can be certain of one simple thing: No matter his fate, his daughter, Emma, will find a handwritten note inside her lunchbox each day until she graduates from high school.

Cancer has given Garth Callaghan a new purpose: to inspire parents to connect more with their children even in small ways, as he has done before and since his diagnosis by tucking a napkin note into his daughter’s lunch every day.

Every morning as he packs Emma’s lunch, Garth adds a little surprise: a “napkin note”—a short, tender message to convey his love, encouragement, and pride. Garth began writing his napkin notes when Emma was in grade school, and as she grew up, his notes became more meaningful.

Shortly after Emma turned twelve, Garth learned he had kidney cancer. Determined to make the time he has left meaningful, he has compiled years’ worth of notes to get his daughter through her high school graduation. Now, in this moving book, a blend of inspiration and memoir, he makes his remarkable legacy available to all of us, to deepen our relationships with our own children and those we love.

Garth introduces each chapter with a napkin note and then shares a story connected to it and to his life. In the vein of The Last Lecture, Tuesdays with Morrie, and Until I Say Good-bye, Napkin Notes is an inspiring tale of family, love, and wisdom. Beautifully written, tender, and wise, it is sure to warm the hearts and touch the souls of readers everywhere.

Quatrième de couverture

Pack. Write. Connect.

Garth Callaghan has been crafting lunches and napkin notes placed in those lunches since his daughter, Emma, was a small child. As she grew older, the notes became more meaningful. Shortly after she turned twelve, the notes became a legacy. Garth had been diagnosed with kidney cancer and was given a grim prognosis.

Garth has now been diagnosed with cancer four times and been given an 8 percent chance to live long enough to watch Emma graduate from high school. Yet rather than dwell on the dire facts, he takes each day as a gift and a chance to connect with those he loves. And he promised to write 826 napkins so that Emma will have one every day until she graduates from high school—no matter what happens.

In the pages of this book, Garth continues his mission, spurring readers to appreciate life and the relationships they have through the simple act of composing a handwritten note to a loved one. A reflection on what it means to be a father, what we want to leave behind once we're gone, but mainly a celebration of the human spirit, Napkin Notes is a reminder of the power we all hold to make every moment count.


Détails sur le produit

  • Format : Format Kindle
  • Taille du fichier : 544 KB
  • Nombre de pages de l'édition imprimée : 256 pages
  • Editeur : HarperOne (28 octobre 2014)
  • Vendu par : Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
  • Langue : Anglais
  • ASIN: B00JDKBU16
  • Synthèse vocale : Activée
  • X-Ray :
  • Word Wise: Activé
  • Composition améliorée: Activé
  • Moyenne des commentaires client : Soyez la première personne à écrire un commentaire sur cet article
  • Classement des meilleures ventes d'Amazon: n°687.928 dans la Boutique Kindle (Voir le Top 100 dans la Boutique Kindle)
  •  Voulez-vous faire un commentaire sur des images ou nous signaler un prix inférieur ?

click to open popover

Commentaires en ligne

Il n'y a pas encore de commentaires clients sur Amazon.fr
5 étoiles
4 étoiles
3 étoiles
2 étoiles
1 étoile

Commentaires client les plus utiles sur Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: HASH(0x8c7de894) étoiles sur 5 71 commentaires
9 internautes sur 10 ont trouvé ce commentaire utile 
HASH(0x8c95c828) étoiles sur 5 Making life meaningful with simple acts ... inspirational 2 novembre 2014
Par Sunny - Publié sur Amazon.com
Format: Relié Achat vérifié
Be prepared with a Kleenex box, for this is an emotional read, an inspirational true story, one which will be a living legacy for his family when (sadly) Garth Callaghan may not be able to beat this cancer the 3rd time around. If you have followed his story from his first diagnosis with kidney cancer and beating it, to its return... he speaks with such bravery, "acceptance" (if there is such a thing), and courage, still working, still writing his daily napkin notes for daughter Emma in her lunchbox. He has compiled many more in case he doesn't survive, so that his daughter will have clues to character, life choices, positivity as she goes on to college, marriage.
He is in bookstores, on radio and TV, newspaper articles if you wish to get to know this inspirational man. It all comes down to "Do it because you can." "Show love and appreciation daily." "Random acts of kindness can make a difference." The love of a good man for his family is very touching. He is also on Facebook .
4 internautes sur 4 ont trouvé ce commentaire utile 
HASH(0x8d3c65e8) étoiles sur 5 A Dubious Disciple Book Review 24 décembre 2014
Par Dubious Disciple - Publié sur Amazon.com
Format: Relié
It’s the napkin notes guy! Maybe you’ve seen traces of him on the internet, from www.napkinnotesdad.com. Garth has been fighting cancer for years and has been writing encouraging lunch notes on napkins to his daughter for even longer. Well, now he has a book.

I screwed up, waiting until now and then posting a review on Christmas Eve, because this would make a wonderful gift. It’s sentimental, not focusing so much on the notes themselves as the story of a father’s love. It’s a wake-up call to share your feelings with those you care about.

The focus of Garth’s notes is always on his beloved daughter Emma, which at first made me feel a little uncomfortable. Where does Mr. Napkin Notes’ wife fit in? And does the daughter really want all this public attention? But as I read on, I started to relax, since the women in his life seemed okay with the focus. In fact, as Emma grew older she began to write the occasional note back to her father as he fought against cancer. Here’s an example:

An arrow can only be shot by pulling it backward. So, when life is dragging you back, it means it’s going to launch you into something awesome.

That note was written just this year, and what Emma meant I can’t know for sure, but I have to think this publication is part of the story. It’s not the typical book I review on The Dubious Disciple; Garth is a long-time Catholic who writes a little about how powerful it felt going into surgery knowing that people were praying for him, but that’s about the extent of his religious side. Rather, it’s all about love and connecting with those you love.

And isn’t that life’s purpose?

HarperOne, © 2014, 247 pages

ISBN: 978-0-06-236334-2
5 internautes sur 5 ont trouvé ce commentaire utile 
HASH(0x8c95c2ac) étoiles sur 5 Living through cancer diagnoses and leaving his mark, Garth ... 29 octobre 2014
Par ladybug - Publié sur Amazon.com
Format: Format Kindle Achat vérifié
Living through cancer diagnoses and leaving his mark, Garth shares life lessons. All the while showing the significance of napkin notes. What an inspiration.
4 internautes sur 5 ont trouvé ce commentaire utile 
HASH(0x8c9b6fe4) étoiles sur 5 Napkin Notes Inspires Me to Be a Better Father! 18 novembre 2014
Par Chris C. - Publié sur Amazon.com
Format: Relié Achat vérifié
Garth has inspired my husband and me to be better fathers. I have a sign on my desk that says, "Enjoy the little things in life, for some day you will realize they were the big things." Garth has shown me that the simple task of writing a note to my kids in their lunch has such a long-term affect on them. I know this because they wrote me a napkin note today that touched my heart.

Garth is looking the challenge of cancer directly in the eye, and making good come from it. This book is a raw story, but filled with hope and the desire to help others connect with their children. I encourage everyone to read this book, find its message and then live in the moment. Connect with your children in the simplest of ways - a note. Buy this book. Buy one for your friends. Share the message and most of all, write napkin notes to your kids.
2 internautes sur 2 ont trouvé ce commentaire utile 
HASH(0x8ca02f48) étoiles sur 5 Inspirational! 3 décembre 2014
Par Amazon Customer - Publié sur Amazon.com
Format: Format Kindle Achat vérifié
Wonderfully written story of one man's journey through a cancer diagnosis. Garth is brave, strong, sweet, and endearing, as he puts his loved ones before his diagnosis. His story is inspiring and encouraging.
Ces commentaires ont-ils été utiles ? Dites-le-nous