Aucun appareil Kindle n'est requis. Téléchargez l'une des applis Kindle gratuites et commencez à lire les livres Kindle sur votre smartphone, tablette ou ordinateur.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

Pour obtenir l'appli gratuite, saisissez votre ou numéro de téléphone mobile.

Prix Kindle : EUR 2,99

Économisez
EUR 3,33 (53%)

TVA incluse
<hza:string id="udp_accessibility_ku_badge"/>
Empruntez ce titre et accédez à plus d'un million d'ebooks, dont plus de 25 000 en français. En savoir plus. Le prix d'emprunt à la page est disponible ici. En savoir plus

Ces promotions seront appliquées à cet article :

Certaines promotions sont cumulables avec d'autres offres promotionnelles, d'autres non. Pour en savoir plus, veuillez vous référer aux conditions générales de ces promotions.

OU
Emprunter
avec l'Abonnement Kindle

Envoyer sur votre Kindle ou un autre appareil

Envoyer sur votre Kindle ou un autre appareil

Sword of Empire: Praetorian (Sword of Empire series) (English Edition) par [Foreman, Richard]
Publicité sur l'appli Kindle

Sword of Empire: Praetorian (Sword of Empire series) (English Edition) Format Kindle


Voir les formats et éditions Masquer les autres formats et éditions
Prix Amazon
Neuf à partir de Occasion à partir de
Format Kindle
"Veuillez réessayer"
EUR 2,99

Longueur : 146 pages Word Wise: Activé Composition améliorée: Activé
Page Flip: Activé Langue : Anglais

Descriptions du produit

Présentation de l'éditeur

171AD.

Rome is at war with the northern tribes - and is yet to win a significant battle.
The Germanic armies have crossed the Danube and have attacked the Empire, slaughtering thousands.

The Emperor, Marcus Aurelius, is losing the support of the people and the Senate.
Yet he has formed a plan he believes will change the balance of power in the region.

Aurelius has despatched an officer in the Praetorian Guard, the centurion Gaius Maximus, to escort the son and daughter of a powerful German tribal chief back to their village through enemy territory - in hope of arranging an alliance with Rome.

But Maximus, to complete his mission, must contest with enemies at home, as well as abroad.

One man will change the fate of an Empire, or die trying.

From the backstreets of Rome, to the forests of Germany, and onto the Battle of Pannonia, Sword of Empire: Praetorian is the first book in a new series from the bestselling author of the novel Augustus: Son of Rome - and the Sword of Rome collection of novellas about the campaigns of Julius Caesar.

For fans of Simon Scarrow, Ben Kane and Conn Iggulden.

Richard Foreman's books have been widely praised.

Praise for Augustus: Son of Rome



'Augustus: Son of Rome forges action and adventure with politics and philosophy. This superb story is drenched in both blood and wisdom - and puts Foreman on the map as the coming man of historical fiction'. - Saul David, author of the Zulu Hart series.

Praise for Raffles: The Complete Innings



‘Classy, humorous and surprisingly touching tales of cricket, friendship and crime.’ - David Blackburn, The Spectator.

Richard Foreman is the author of numerous best-selling books, including Augustus: Son of Rome and the Raffles series of historical crime novellas. He is also the author of Warsaw, a literary novel set during the Second World War. He lives in London.

Endeavour Press is the UK's leading independent digital publisher. For more information on our titles please sign up to our newsletter at www.endeavourpress.com. Each week you will receive updates on free and discounted ebooks. Follow us on Twitter: @EndeavourPress and on Facebook via http://on.fb.me/1HweQV7

Détails sur le produit

  • Format : Format Kindle
  • Taille du fichier : 533 KB
  • Nombre de pages de l'édition imprimée : 146 pages
  • Editeur : Endeavour Press Ltd. (14 novembre 2013)
  • Vendu par : Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
  • Langue : Anglais
  • ASIN: B00GO6EPXM
  • Synthèse vocale : Activée
  • X-Ray :
  • Word Wise: Activé
  • Composition améliorée: Activé
  • Moyenne des commentaires client : Soyez la première personne à écrire un commentaire sur cet article
  • Classement des meilleures ventes d'Amazon: n°131.229 dans la Boutique Kindle (Voir le Top 100 dans la Boutique Kindle)
  •  Voulez-vous faire un commentaire sur des images ou nous signaler un prix inférieur ?


Quels sont les autres articles que les clients achètent après avoir regardé cet article?

click to open popover

Commentaires en ligne

Il n'y a pas encore de commentaires clients sur Amazon.fr
5 étoiles
4 étoiles
3 étoiles
2 étoiles
1 étoile

Commentaires client les plus utiles sur Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: HASH(0x9134ac90) étoiles sur 5 19 commentaires
5 internautes sur 5 ont trouvé ce commentaire utile 
HASH(0x91380894) étoiles sur 5 A great read. 16 mars 2014
Par Dennis D. Mcdonald - Publié sur Amazon.com
Format: Format Kindle
This book popped up in my "recommended" list on Amazon and, eager for respite from more serious fare, I downloaded it.

I found it immensely enjoyable. I've always been partial to sword-and-sandal movies, plus I studied Latin for four years in high school. As I've grown older my understanding of the brutal realities of those ancient days has grown, even as my appreciation of the realities of government and politics has also matured.

The elements of the story will be familiar to many readers:

- The strong, silent hero nursing memories of a painful loss.
- Political skulduggery and backstabbing.
- The secret mission.
- Nick of time rescues.
- War in a distant land.
- The eager youngster.
- The final battle where not everything is resolved.
- A liberal sprinkling of things to be addressed in future series installments.

Along the way we have flaming arrows, the slitting of throats, early Christianity, and the presence of the fabled physician Galen (whom I pictured as being played by David Hyde Pierce).

I found very enjoyable both the characters and the author's language.

The characters are recognizable and clearly drawn. I found it very easy to picture and get to know them. The writing is clear, direct, and replete with realistic imagery and flashes of humor. The author efficiently and skillfully metes out backstory throughout the novel. Also fun: occasional use of arcane terms like "scutum" which brought back some high school memories.

I look forward to the next in the series, SWORD OF EMPIRE: CENTURION.
7 internautes sur 8 ont trouvé ce commentaire utile 
HASH(0x913808e8) étoiles sur 5 Great start to his second series 21 janvier 2014
Par Marta abromaityte - Publié sur Amazon.com
Format: Format Kindle
I bought the Complete Campaigns which contained all the Sword of Rome series to save on money rather than buying each story and really enjoyed them. Again, whilst I prefer slightly longer works of fiction, hence why I enjoyed the omnibus, I thought this was a great introduction to the series. The writer has grown a lot as a writer. Some of the same humour features again, but less so than the previous books. A great read.
3 internautes sur 3 ont trouvé ce commentaire utile 
HASH(0x91380d20) étoiles sur 5 ... that actually made you angry because it was so bad, trite a and banal 13 février 2015
Par laurence c byrne - Publié sur Amazon.com
Format: Broché
Did you ever read a book that actually made you angry because it was so bad, trite a and banal? This is one of those books. First of all it is 140 something double spaced pages. Seemed like a final project for a writing class. Replete with references to roman history and figures spanning hundred of years in everyday conversation. It's like Americans constantly referring to George Washington, the Civil War and Columbus landing in the Santa Maria while discussing the current political situations. Supreme rip off. Give me Harry Sidebottom or Wallace Breem.
3 internautes sur 3 ont trouvé ce commentaire utile 
HASH(0x91381108) étoiles sur 5 not worth reading 31 octobre 2014
Par Walter - Publié sur Amazon.com
Format: Format Kindle Achat vérifié
A string of philosophical meanderings uttered by undeveloped characters. To many better authors in this genre to waste your time with this effort that fails to achieve mediocrity. Can't understand what the other, more favorable reviewers saw in this book.
2 internautes sur 2 ont trouvé ce commentaire utile 
HASH(0x913810b4) étoiles sur 5 Average superior white male jargon 18 juin 2015
Par Beans - Publié sur Amazon.com
Format: Format Kindle Achat vérifié
"Close to history" eh?

I'd say this has about the same historical accuracy as a historical drama on HBO, but again, it can always be argued that unless you lived in such times, you can never know what it was truly like. It's not so much the events. I have a beef with the characters themselves and the way they think; other than the fact that they're stock, they act and think waaaay too MODERN (I seriously don't see what's so great about them, they're all easy personality traits to fall back on in this type of plot, i.e. Don Juan side kick, brooding main character, the only one chaste, attractive woman outside of whores and wenches). I even found myself rolling my eyes in disgust at how blatantly they remind me of the former high school jocks I find at the bar trying to feel up the girls. But that's just me. For the general audience, they'll probably flip their sh*t if they stepped into the mindset of a real Praetorian/centurion back in the day.

Is that a bad thing? No. Of course not. This book was still entertaining. The writing wasn't terrible. In fact, there are several memorable lines, albeit distracting typos abound, but clearly the story's been edited nonetheless. The author obviously knows how to weave a plot together. I found myself turning page after page, even though I didn't really care to find out. The story flowed well. But hardly a satisfying experience that left a bitter taste in my mouth overall.
Ces commentaires ont-ils été utiles ? Dites-le-nous