Symphonie N°8 a été ajouté à votre Panier
Quantité :1

Vous l'avez déjà ? Vendez sur Amazon

Symphonie N°8

Tous les prix incluent la TVA.
Il ne reste plus que 2 exemplaire(s) en stock.
Expédié et vendu par Amazon. Emballage cadeau disponible.
Note: Cet article est éligible à la livraison en points de collecte. Détails
Récupérer votre colis où vous voulez quand vous voulez.
  • Choisissez parmi 17 000 points de collecte en France
  • Les membres du programme Amazon Premium bénéficient de livraison gratuites illimitées
Comment commander vers un point de collecte ?
  1. Trouvez votre point de collecte et ajoutez-le à votre carnet d’adresses
  2. Sélectionnez cette adresse lors de votre commande
Plus d’informations
18 neufs à partir de EUR 15,67 3 d'occasion à partir de EUR 42,88
Découvrez plus de 10 000 DVD, Blu-ray et Séries TV en promotion

Offres spéciales et liens associés

Détails sur le produit

  • Format : Classique, DVD-Vidéo, Plein écran, PAL
  • Audio : Anglais
  • Région : Toutes les régions
  • Rapport de forme : 1.33:1
  • Nombre de disques : 1
  • Studio : Ica Classics
  • Date de sortie du DVD : 3 mai 2012
  • Durée : 66 minutes
  • Moyenne des commentaires client : Soyez la première personne à écrire un commentaire sur cet article
  • ASIN: B007LKMC4E
  • Classement des meilleures ventes d'Amazon: 170.187 en DVD & Blu-ray (Voir les 100 premiers en DVD & Blu-ray)
  •  Voulez-vous mettre à jour des informations sur le produit, faire un commentaire sur des images ou nous signaler un prix inférieur?

Descriptions du produit

Description du produit

This series of DVDs will make the publicly broadcast BSO concerts from this era available for the first time since they were broadcast. This rare material represents some of the earliest televised concerts with the Boston Symphony Orchestra and William Steinberg, and has been restored using the greatest care and state-of-the-art techniques. It is of exceptional musical interest and historic value.

The BSO s Music Director for just three seasons, Steinberg spent a great deal of time in the USA, having left Europe following Music Director positions in Cologne, Prague and Frankfurt. He also co-founded the Palestine Orchestra, later the Israel Philharmonic. His time with the BSO came at the end of his career following his position as the Music Director of Pittsburgh Symphony, which he held for over 20 years. Steinberg recorded a great deal of material with the Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra to great acclaim, but only a small selection of recordings with the BSO for DG. His recording of Holst s The Planets became a bestseller thanks to the calibre of Steinberg s interpretation and virtuosic playing from the BSO.

A live recording of Bruckner 8 with Steinberg and the BSO, from 1972, was issued as part of the orchestra s Centennial Celebration set, and has been described as a good, well paced and powerful reading, well played by the Bostonians . Steinberg s CD release of Mahler s Second Symphony on ICA Classics has received excellent reviews Gramophone described it as a startlingly direct statement of a score that is too often treated to extremes of mood and tempo and Classics Today as having moments that set a new standard in this music . Steinberg leads this Bruckner 8 performance from memory and with great subtlety and distinction in a sympathetic interpretation that provoked a rapturous response from the Boston audience. Richard Dyer in his booklet note describes the performance as compelling. Two of ICA s BSO DVDs featuring Charles Munch as conductor have been awarded the Diapason d Or in France s Diapason magazin


Recorded in 1962, Steinberg is the polar opposite of modern showbiz, inspiring primeval orchestral eruptions with the minimum of fuss as though the orchestra is mesmerised by him. Performance **** Picture & Sound *** --BBC Music Magazine, Sept'12

Commentaires en ligne

Il n'y a pas encore de commentaires clients sur
5 étoiles
4 étoiles
3 étoiles
2 étoiles
1 étoile

Commentaires client les plus utiles sur (beta) HASH(0x9b0d7120) étoiles sur 5 2 commentaires
6 internautes sur 6 ont trouvé ce commentaire utile 
HASH(0x9af320c0) étoiles sur 5 Outstanding, despite cuts in score 6 août 2012
Par Howard F. Stein - Publié sur
Achat vérifié
The Steinberg/Boston 1962 collaboration on Bruckner's colossal Eighth Symphony is an outstanding musical experience, provided that one can accept the singular flaw that has plagued so many Bruckner symphony scores: cuts. There are large cuts in the third and fourth movements which, the accompanying notes explain, were necessary to fit the symphony into the television schedule. This is a different aesthetic from what drove Haas and Novak in their revisions.

But in Steinberg's hands what music there is glows. The video is black and white, with occasional lapses in the visual portion of the CD. They are annoying but not crucial to enjoyment of the grandeur, the spirituality, and the enormous range of emotion the music embodies. Steinberg is deeply involved in the music, but spare in gesture. Steinberg has a sense of the whole musical architecture into which each measure and episode fits, giving the music an integrity that is often missing in performances of Bruckner Eighths that thrive on the Big Moments.

In my youth in Pittsburgh, I heard in person Steinberg and his Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra perform this symphony. I will refrain from comparisons of the Steinberg/Boston live concert with performances by other conductors and orchestras. For me, this one is a keeper, to which I will return both to experience and to learn from Bruckner. I rated this DVD a 5 despite the unfortunate cuts.
1 internautes sur 1 ont trouvé ce commentaire utile 
HASH(0x9b104c0c) étoiles sur 5 William Steinberg live 2 octobre 2013
Par Oscar Leyte - Publié sur
Achat vérifié
A great opportunity to SEE the legendary maestro in action. His no-nonsense podium manner gets great results and his interpretations are always right on target.
Ces commentaires ont-ils été utiles ? Dites-le-nous

Discussions entre clients

Rechercher des articles similaires par rubrique


Souhaitez-vous compléter ou améliorer les informations sur ce produit ? Ou faire modifier les images?