Aucun appareil Kindle n'est requis. Téléchargez l'une des applis Kindle gratuites et commencez à lire les livres Kindle sur votre smartphone, tablette ou ordinateur.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

Pour obtenir l'appli gratuite, saisissez votre numéro de téléphone mobile.

Prix Kindle : EUR 2,87
TVA incluse

Ces promotions seront appliquées à cet article :

Certaines promotions sont cumulables avec d'autres offres promotionnelles, d'autres non. Pour en savoir plus, veuillez vous référer aux conditions générales de ces promotions.

Envoyer sur votre Kindle ou un autre appareil

Envoyer sur votre Kindle ou un autre appareil

The Time Trap par [Kuttner, Henry]
Publicité sur l'appli Kindle

The Time Trap Format Kindle

3.0 étoiles sur 5 1 commentaire client

Voir les formats et éditions Masquer les autres formats et éditions
Prix Amazon
Neuf à partir de Occasion à partir de
Format Kindle
"Veuillez réessayer"
EUR 2,87

Longueur : 115 pages Word Wise: Activé Composition améliorée: Activé
Page Flip: Activé Langue : Anglais

Description du produit

Présentation de l'éditeur

1939 Retro-Hugo Awards Best Novella nominee

A titan of the genre, Henry Kuttner, weaves a spellbinding tale of a time-traveling archaeologist in one of the most fantastic adventures ever conceived.

"[A] pomegranate writer: popping with seeds—full of ideas."—Ray Bradbury

Kent Mason is an archaeologist hopelessly lost in the desert. When he stumbles into the ruins of the ancient city of Al Bekr, he unknowingly steps into a time portal and finds himself flung into into the greatest adventure of his life.

Originally written for Marvel Science Stories, Henry Kuttner spins a rambunctious story filled with more monsters, mayhem, beautiful women, unimaginable threats, and bizarre plot twists than any reader could possibly imagine.

Détails sur le produit

  • Format : Format Kindle
  • Taille du fichier : 4652 KB
  • Nombre de pages de l'édition imprimée : 115 pages
  • Editeur : Diversion Books (29 juillet 2014)
  • Vendu par : Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
  • Langue : Anglais
  • ASIN: B00M7JATMG
  • Synthèse vocale : Activée
  • X-Ray :
  • Word Wise: Activé
  • Lecteur d’écran : Pris en charge
  • Composition améliorée: Activé
  • Moyenne des commentaires client : 3.0 étoiles sur 5 1 commentaire client
  • Classement des meilleures ventes d'Amazon: n°479.101 dans la Boutique Kindle (Voir le Top 100 dans la Boutique Kindle)
  • Voulez-vous nous parler de prix plus bas?

click to open popover

Commentaires en ligne

3.0 étoiles sur 5
5 étoiles
0
4 étoiles
0
3 étoiles
1
2 étoiles
0
1 étoile
0
Voir le commentaire client
Partagez votre opinion avec les autres clients

Meilleurs commentaires des clients

Format: Format Kindle Achat vérifié
Not the best science-fiction I've ever read and with too many shortcuts. A good beach-read but definitely not a masterpiece.
Remarque sur ce commentaire Avez-vous trouvé ce commentaire utile ? Oui Non Commentaire en cours d'envoi...
Merci pour votre commentaire.
Désolé, nous n'avons pas réussi à enregistrer votre vote. Veuillez réessayer
Signaler un abus

Commentaires client les plus utiles sur Amazon.com (beta) (Peut contenir des commentaires issus du programme Early Reviewer Rewards)

Amazon.com: 3.1 étoiles sur 5 17 commentaires
2.0 étoiles sur 5 Waste of Time Trap 16 janvier 2016
Par Silver Screen Videos - Publié sur Amazon.com
Format: Format Kindle Achat vérifié
The period from 1938 to 1946 is often called the Golden Age of Science Fiction, a time when the field first became popular and some of the best stories of all time were written. However, not everything from that era stands the test of time. A prime example is Henry Kuttner's "The Time Trap," a pulp novella that was quite racy for its era but comes across as a repetitive, almost juvenile oddity today.

Henry Kuttner wrote some of the most imaginative science fiction stories of all time, but "The Time Trap" is not one of them. Instead, it's a work he cranked out for one of the pulp magazines of the era, and he clearly pandered to its readership in drafting the story. The hero is Kent Mason, an archaeologist, who, while exploring a ruined city in the Arabian desert, gets caught in a time field and transported back 5,000 years to when the city was occupied. The city is ruled by a scientist from the distant future who took his time machine with him into the past. That scientist, known as the Master, has an army of robots that helped him enslave the locals, including their queen, a beautiful woman named Alasa. The Master enlists Mason's help to repair his time ship and, when he leaves the ancient city behind, Mason, Alasa, and a couple of helpers take off in another ship and go after the Master to try to stop him from conquering the world.

If the plot sounds corny, it is. "The Time Trap" is merely a variant on the space operas that were popular at the time, only, instead of going from planet to planet, Mason and Alasa go from century to century. The story is pretty much the same every time they land. One or both of them are menaced by various horrifying creatures, including robots, a centaur, plant-men, giant ants, and a sea monster. Along the way, Alasa and the other women in the book, who are invariably young and incredibly beautiful as well, wind up losing their clothes a lot and are force to parade around in their birthday suits. Kuttner seems to have written almost every chapter with the idea of inspiring cover art featuring a half-naked woman being menaced by an incredibly ugly monster.

At the time Kuttner wrote "The Time Trap" in 1939, he was in his early 20's, and the book lacks polish. It's quite repetitive, characters are shallow and one-dimensional, and there's virtually no science other than attributing all the futuristic devices to atomic power. The action scenes are reasonably well written, but the story shows none of the imagination Kuttner would display in some of his later, more acclaimed works. Indeed, the only imagination involved in the book is in creating as many gruesome, menacing monsters as possible. "The Time Trap" was notorious in its day for actually having nude, as opposed to merely scantily clad, female characters, but the language is quite tame by modern standards and there's no real hanky panky going on. Ironically, the authorities took such a dim view of Kuttner's racy writing, based on "The Time Trap" and a similar earlier book Kuttner wrote, that he was forced to use a pseudonym, Lewis Padgett, for many of his later stories. It's the Padgett name under which his work first received acclaim.

Far from being a classic, "The Time Trap" instead reads like a lot of the lesser self-published science fiction on Amazon. Kuttner displays a good bit of technical writing skill in the way he composes sentences and passages, but the book is shallow, both in terms of plot and character development, and the monsters Mason faces are so silly and over-the-top by today's standards that the book is simply not all that exciting or suspenseful. "The Time Trap" has a certain educational value in showing what the popular pulp science fiction of the era looked like, but there are many better examples of the genre from that era available, both by Kuttner/Padgett and other writers. Interested readers should look elsewhere for period science fiction and not let "The Time Trap" become a money trap for unwary readers.
1 internautes sur 1 ont trouvé ce commentaire utile 
4.0 étoiles sur 5 Magic! Time Travel! Madmen! 10 mars 2015
Par HMMADNESS - Publié sur Amazon.com
Format: Format Kindle Achat vérifié
This is a tale told throughout time. Written in 1929, so it reads that way but it handles the non linear time travel aspects very well. Time travel can be very confusing or just plain goofy if not handled right.

This has time travel, sci-fi weapons, magic, killer animals, and the random guy that everything is happening too. We travel to the future, the past, and even learn of more then that. The every man must do what he can and team with who is around him to stop a madman from changing history and perhaps worse.

Overall this is not a bad story, the plot moves along at a nice pace and it is a fun story, seeing how the past looked at what the future may be like and some of the wacky ideas involved in that. It is a nice quick read and you should enjoy it if your into science fiction and/or time travel.
4 internautes sur 5 ont trouvé ce commentaire utile 
3.0 étoiles sur 5 A time travel story 8 août 2014
Par brudigia - Publié sur Amazon.com
Format: Format Kindle Achat vérifié
An old style story, like they used to write in 30s. The book is from 1929, so this comes as no surprise. Very simple, although not a linear story. The tale is simple. Kent Mason, an archeologist, whilst travelling in Arabia finds himself thrown back in time to a time when Ur was just founded.
Mason is taken prisoner in a strange city, very advanced, founded by a time traveller from the year 4000 AD.
The traveller wants to rule the world, and has taken prisoner Alasa, the queen of the city.
To make a long story short, as in the usual cliché, Mason and Alasa fall in love and fight the evil traveller across time.
At least in four time of the tale, Alasa is stripped naked and shows up her bronze beauty. This must have been very exciting in 1929, laughable today. Again a very simple story, on a par with the stories of that period, do not expect the lost masterpiece, just a curiosity.
1 internautes sur 1 ont trouvé ce commentaire utile 
3.0 étoiles sur 5 Old school sci-fantasy 21 octobre 2014
Par Awol - Publié sur Amazon.com
Format: Format Kindle Achat vérifié
This book is in the tradition of H. Rider Haggard and Edgar Rice Burroughs, an adventure fantasy with beautiful, naked women throwing themselves at the hero, "radium rays", time ships and beast men.
5.0 étoiles sur 5 Five Stars 19 septembre 2014
Par Shodog - Publié sur Amazon.com
Format: Format Kindle Achat vérifié
Good book!
Ces commentaires ont-ils été utiles ? Dites-le-nous